We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46,30*
and up
Tsitsikamma Canopy Tour
Ranked #2 of 76 things to do in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery”
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Driving along the garden route is a real treat,the scenery is spectacular and well worth a visit. The roads are superb and lots to take in en-route.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank janet270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    203
    44
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average accomodation”
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We booked and paid extra for a chalet with Waterhole view. The waterhole was 3/4 obscured from our balcony by trees, and was at least 500m away. We paid extra for nothing. The access to our chalet was down an uneven slope with no handrail - dangerous for anyone with mobility problems, and was a 10 minute walk from the main buildings. The catering was buffet style, and dining in a large restaurant catering for large parties. The safari's were well run, the guide we had was extremely knowledgeable, but the animals are not plentiful (2 elephant, five white rhinos, a few giraffe and zebra, and five lions which were raised in captivity, and are fed by staff). Sorry, but we would not re-visit this reserve.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Watch your change!”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

The National Park is really good but be warned if you decide to walk to the suspenion bridges it can be really tough with a lot of stairs. If you have a heart condition or are not very fit tgen you will struggle.
The place is enchanting and gives some respite from the heat as there is a lot of shade. There are boat trips and kayaks for exploring the gorge you are in a group and supervised at all times.
The biggest disappointment is the restaurant called Cattle Baron if you eat there then give them the exact money as you won't get change.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank david_carraher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“National park”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Very nice park, with trails for all likes.
The wait at the entrance, is so long it breaks the experience, of the park, paperwork that is really not necessary to get in, it like going into a diffrent country.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank bluerock99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“If you have time, take the coast road and side trips to the smaller towns”
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We left Cape Town with a deadline to reach Sedgefield so we didn't have enough time to enjoy the many side trips, or the coast road through Vermont and Hermanus, but even so we did see some beautiful scenery along the Route 2 highway / freeway.

Met a friend for breakfast at the marina in Gordons Bay, stopped at a huge farm stall near Elgin for some fresh supplies, then had a Wimpy coffee and lunch at Heidelberg before reaching Sedgefield in the early afternoon. An easy drive.

The road is mostly highway / freeway with 120 km/h speed limits, but many locals don't stick to that speed so be prepared to move over to the left (beyond the yellow line) to let the faster cars pass when safe to do so. They usually thank you with a flash of their warning lights, and you respond with a flash of headlights to say "you're welcome". All very civilised! Just watch out for fixed and mobile speed cameras if you do creep above the posted speed limit (perish the thought). There are plenty of service centres and rest stops along the road to break up the trip. It was raining for most of the day we drove so we didn't bother stopping too often.

Over the next few days we explored Sedgefield, Wilderness, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, and backtracked to Groot Brakrivier near Mossel Bay for a night before heading off to Jeffreys Bay then Port Elizabeth and our flight to Joburg. Lots of fun despite the holiday season crowds in some spots (especially Knysna and Plet Bay).

Next time I'd definitely plan a more leisurely trip along the Garden Route, there are so many small coastal towns and beaches probably worth a look, so you could take a few days or a week to get from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth if you have the time.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Garden Route (Tsitsikamma, Knysna, Wilderness) National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing