We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly Hosts!”
Review of Double Dutch B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #1 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2017

After a long drive from Cape Town, we reached Knysna as the sun was setting and it felt like we were visiting some friends at their mansion.

Kate welcomed us to the B&B upon our arrival and showed us to our room. She was warm friendly and suggested several nice restaurants for dinner. I saw that the ladies own several cute dogs but we weren't able to interact with them as they were kept in the residence.

The room was relatively large and the attached toilet was of a good sized.

Breakfast was served in the main dining area a short walk down from the rooms.

You will need a car to access the centre of Knysna from the Double Dutch.

I would recommend this delightful B&B helmed by the friendly Dutch ladies!

Room Tip: maybe away from the main dining area?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Infinity00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017

From the moment we entered the property of double Dutch it felt like a warm bed. Kate and Nathalie are really friendly and helpful hosts. There is a lot of privacy in an lovely, clean, well designed B&B. When you want to know something about knysna and environment they can tell you a lot and give you good advices. really a top accomodation with a top management.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dirk515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Location was nice and quiet. Cleanliness of the rooms was just awesome. Our hosts, Kate and Nathalie, provided a very nice atmosphere , served a wonderful breakfast and had a lot of tips were to go during our stay .
excellent value for the money and highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan19992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Simply perfect! The room, the location, the view and especially our hosts Kate and Nathalie. They were very helpful and know the best places to go in the area. We stayed 4 nights; we wish we had more time to spend here. So we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inababbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

In April 2017 we stayed three days at the wonderfull DD B&B. Both ladies who run this place our perfect hosts seving their guest with a lot of useful information about visits on great locations in the area. Their brand new lodges are comfortable and very clean and the maintenance on their property borders to perfection. Great view on the bay, beautiful pool, of course to cold for us in April. We really recommend this place to every passenger passing the garden route.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.6 km away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 129 in Knysna
661 reviews
20.3 km away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Alexander Boutique Suites
0.2 km away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#6 of 129 in Knysna
228 reviews
4.3 km away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: R1 360 - R2 040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing