We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great boat ride with more oysters then we could eat.”

Knysna Lagoon Oyster Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Transportation in Knysna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our coastal town of Knysna and Oysters go together like champagne and caviar, sea and sky, summer breezes and cold beers ... if you're more than a little intrigued by oysters, then join us for the ultimate oyster experience on the spectacular Knysna Lagoon. Learn all there is to know about one of the world's most loved delicacy, taste the difference between wild and cultivated oysters, all whilst cruising the lagoon to the Heads and surrounds. Ask questions, take photo's, excite your taste buds - all on board our "Oyster Boat" with a small group of guests. The cruise includes complimentary local white wine and oysters for tasting. Extra oysters are available on pre-order to enjoy on the boat. Cruise includes an oyster educational experience, complimentary white wine, and half a dozen fresh oysters per person.
Reviewed 26 February 2017

we had great fun on that boat while drinking wine champagne and oysters. The guy was really friendly and the oysters were fresh and we could try to open them ourselves. Even when the guy forgot the champagne glasses, it was such fun to organize the glasses from a hotel nearby.

Thank stefanmrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plett, Owner at Knysna Lagoon Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Forgot the Champagne glasses...I hope that was not me, we sometimes get caught in the flow and swop the white wine and champagne glasses around...it's a chilled "being on the water thing". I am so glad you learn't how to open an oyster...we love showing people this forgotten skill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely team, welcoming and friendly and we had a nice time. The tour did fulfil the description of oysters, wine and lagoon tour. However there was not a lot of info on the oysters at all and the lagoon tour was very stately and could have shown us more. In retrospect I would have preferred to have oysters in one of the local restaurants and spent my money on a more interesting boat ride.

Thank deepbluesea2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plett, Owner at Knysna Lagoon Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for doing the tour with us...sorry we did not meet your expectations. We really feel that the nature and the Knysna Heads is an amazing experience for all tourists to experience....a restaurant will never give you this! Our Tour is built to be the perfect start for the perfect evening....I trust you enjoyed your dinner at one of the many restaurants around our jetty's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The boat tour is a pleasant way to watch the coast from the water, come closer to the Knysna Heads and enjoy some reallly fresh oysters on board. The captain was very enthusiastic, had good humour and good stories. We can recommend this trip : good value for money !

Thank 72Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plett, Owner at Knysna Lagoon Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great Title for your review...thanks for being on the water with us...after 10 years in the business these are the comments that make us get up in the morning. Looking Forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

the best experience for local tours of the lagoon by boat. this is value for money guided tours, in which you get to experience the first hand care by tour operators from knysna

1  Thank chamum2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plett, Owner at Knysna Lagoon Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You made my day...we go the extra mile for people like you! Lovely having you onboard. Safe Travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Great little excursion when in Knysna, excellent captain, very knowledgeable and eager to share with you. Oysters & wine supplied on the cruise. Very safe. Really comfortable, pleasent & enjoyable.

1  Thank decdeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plett, Owner at Knysna Lagoon Oyster Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Africa Africa Africa...beware they say once your feet touch the african soil you can't leave. Anyways thanks for the kind words...ti'll next time. Have Fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knysna Lagoon Oyster Tour also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Knysna Lagoon Oyster Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing