We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely place to stay in Knysna”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Your home away from Home Deck at Prospect Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
80 reviews
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Your home away from Home
Deck at Prospect Cottage
Giraffes on the deck at Prospect Cottage
Lounge area with comfortable couches
Corner of the comfortable lounge
View out of the lounge window.
African Art on the lounge wall
Dining room
Master bedroom with queen size bed
En suite bathroom with shower, toilet and basin
3rd bedroom with 2 single beds and a view over the lagoon.
3rd bedroom with 2 single beds
2nd bedroom with double bed and views over the lagoon
View from the 3rd Bedroom
Family bathroom with separate shower, bath, basin and toilet.
Hallway at Prospect Cottage
Kitchen
Family bathroom with separate shower, bath, basin and toilet.
Braai (  BBQ)
How to find Prospect Cottage.
Knysna Lagoon
Sunset at the Knysna Waterfront.
Sunset at the Knysna Waterfront
Knysna Waterfront.
Knysna Waterfront.
Paddle Steamer on the lagoon
Knysna Waterfront.
View of the Knysna Heads from Bollard Bay
Knysna Lagoon
Western Head
Knysna Lagoon
Low tide at  Bollard bay beach
Knysna Lagoon from the Heads
Knysna beach and lagoon
Lagoon views
The Heads,
Jubilee Creek in the Knysna Forest
Jubilee Creek
Knysna forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pbrh
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Homely place to stay in Knysna”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage has a lovely view over the estuary and is very comfortable. Furnishings are so dated they are almost back in fashion. As it was formerly the owner's summer house, everything you could possibly think of is present. Very friendly and informative reception by the owner.
One big but: it was not clean. The downside of a house with so much stuff in it I suppose. I don't think anybody every thinks of cleaning behind the cupboards for example, where we found a mass of cobwebs etc. when hunting for a socket to plug something in. No Wifi !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy and homely
Liked least: Not clean enough and no wifi
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review Prospect Cottage. Sorry about the cobwebs. They are now gone !! We also state upfront that we do not have wi fi but glad that in spite of this you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrett41
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in Knysna, although short, was thoroughly enjoyable and Prospect Cottage was an absolute hidden gem of holiday accommodation. The owners, Liz and Neville, have clearly gone above and beyond what is required to make their guests stay as comfortable as possible. We would highly recommend Prospext Cottage to anybody visiting Knysna.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Hi there, It was lovely to see you again after all these years and to meet your wife and beautiful daughter. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and the rest of the family in the near future. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to give us such a glowing review. It is much appreciated. Safe journey back to the U.K. Love, , Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tersiarad...
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money.”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Warm, friendly and very helpful owners, Neville and Liz. Much more than we have expected.... I would recommend Prospect Cottage to anyone. Stunning view, clean,
neat and comfortable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you both so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write this reviews. We do appreciate it very much,. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Prospect Cottage and we hope to see you back in the near future. Come and live in Knysna . It is a wonderful place to be. Warm wishes, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynneCape...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing and affordable gem”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Prospect Cottage - we actually extended our stay!

The house has everything that one could ask for (from tea and coffee to marshmallows!) and the owners are simply amazing people. No request is too much trouble for them.

We look forward to returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Hello, So nice to hear from your guys and thank you so much for your kind word and taking the time and trouble to review Prospect Cottage. It is much appreciated. I have found out we have a mutal friend in Chantel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Prospect Cottage in the near future. Kind regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger O
Windhoek
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Self-catering option in Knysna”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Prospect Cottage is a great place for a family with children looking for a peaceful self-catering option with a view. The view over the Knysna lagoon is as displayed on their website. The house has everything you need for a self-catering cottage. The braai place is not under cover, which was no problem for us as it never rained, but might be for braai lovers. The parking is not on the premises, but on a parking-bay just off-street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: parking area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Prospect Cottage. We really do appreciate your time and effort. It was nice meeting you and we do hope we will see you again at the cottage in the not too distant future. Best regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing