We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cottage with everything”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Your home away from Home Deck at Prospect Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
80 reviews
View from the deck at Prospect Cottage
Your home away from Home
Deck at Prospect Cottage
Giraffes on the deck at Prospect Cottage
Lounge area with comfortable couches
Corner of the comfortable lounge
View out of the lounge window.
African Art on the lounge wall
Dining room
Master bedroom with queen size bed
En suite bathroom with shower, toilet and basin
3rd bedroom with 2 single beds and a view over the lagoon.
3rd bedroom with 2 single beds
2nd bedroom with double bed and views over the lagoon
View from the 3rd Bedroom
Family bathroom with separate shower, bath, basin and toilet.
Hallway at Prospect Cottage
Kitchen
Family bathroom with separate shower, bath, basin and toilet.
Braai (  BBQ)
How to find Prospect Cottage.
Knysna Lagoon
Sunset at the Knysna Waterfront.
Sunset at the Knysna Waterfront
Knysna Waterfront.
Knysna Waterfront.
Paddle Steamer on the lagoon
Knysna Waterfront.
View of the Knysna Heads from Bollard Bay
Knysna Lagoon
Western Head
Knysna Lagoon
Low tide at  Bollard bay beach
Knysna Lagoon from the Heads
Knysna beach and lagoon
Lagoon views
The Heads,
Jubilee Creek in the Knysna Forest
Jubilee Creek
Knysna forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve1205
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cottage with everything”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Our second stay at this property so we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed. A fine location with lovely views across the lagoon, the cottage is equipped with anything that could possible be required. Some things could do with updating but overall the place is highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
We are so thrilled you loved your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely review.Remember updating also means putting up our prices ! We know we off er good value for your pounds! We hope to see you again when you are next back in South Africa . Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie P
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful location”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stunning views, tranquil surroundings and even better star lit evenings. If you are looking to get away from the city, and just watch as nature goes about it's thing - this is the place to go!
Such a wonder stay, and so much to do within such close proximity of the house...truly lovely. Thanks Gert for being so helpful as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Liked least: The shower and access to hot/cold water overall
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Hello, Glad you enjoyed your stay in Knysna and at Prospect Cottage .We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for taking the trouble to review the cottage. Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonmat...
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We had a short stay in Knysna, but enjoyed our time here. The cottage is very large with 3 separate bedrooms and a huge livin room. Views from the living room and deck down onto Knysna lagoon are amazing and the owners are really nice. However a decent scrub and some more housekeeping and maybe a little less decorating would be well appreciated.

All in all would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2014
Hello, So glad you enjoyed your stay in Knysna and acknowledged that we are good value for money. We pride ourselves on giving good value to all our visitors at Prospect Cottage. Hope the rest of your South African trip was wonderful and that you saw the lions in Addo. Regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques_1...
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location in central Knysna!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 5 days at The Prospect Cottage during the 2014 Knysna Oyster Festival. Well equipped 3 bedroom cottage centrally located within walking distance of the festival grounds. Thanx to Liz and Nevile we had a marvelous stay and we recommend this place highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Hi there, It was great to meet you and your family and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Prospect Cottage. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Dear Nikki and family,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We aim to exceed our guests expectation and are delighted that you enjoyed you stay at Prospect Cottage. Thank you for coming to Knysna and for choosing to stay at Prospect. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards , Neville and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$68
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing