We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
290
203
62
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
203
62
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose cafe luxury studio building site modern hotel knysna waterfront walking distance glass door building work bedroom apartment other hotels water front walk in shower buffet breakfast very comfortable stay stayed here for nights small kitchen ideal location
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We stayed for one night, service was good, staff were very helpful and courteous. Suggest that you should make a full fledged restaurant for serving dinner to your guests. This will compliment to your service.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sanjaysinhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. I will most certainly forward your comments onto management for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

What more can be said than SUPER FABULOUS!!!!!!
always a joy to stay here, family rooms are perfect, staff friendly and professional, breakfast always tasty. Rooms are always clean and the hotel is situated near all amenities.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bgreyl774390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Once again thank you for choosing The Rex Hotel as your preferred accommodation supplier on the Garden Route.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This place was the low point of our S African holiday. Our room, in the older area was spacious but difficult to sleep in due due large opaque window to corridor where light was on all night. Very few facilities, breakfast was in tiny cafe, dinner not available on site, we had to eat out. Swimming pool, about same size as large garden inflatable and in shade most of time.Management out of touch with what his hotel offers.
Would not darken their doors again

Room tip: Don't go there.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the light. I will most certainly pass your comments onto the owners for consideration of a blind.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

The reception is something to behold. A simple desk. The breakfast was limited and the eating area was overfull due to a bus load of foreign visitors. The rooms are small and have no views. The building appears like a student residence which was converted into a hotel. The hotel has two separate wings.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value and appreciate all comments received. I will most certainly ask the chef to re-look at the breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Upon arrival at this hotel, we were told there was no bar and only a small cafeteria area for breakfast. On 1st morning, with having 2 coach groups in, there was not enough space for everyone to sit and eat and not much better on 2nd morning. Hotel situated within walking distance of harbour. The manager told us upon arrival that we were given a bottle of water each per day but if we wanted more to ask at reception. When I went and asked for one on the 2nd day, the lady on reception was quite abrupt and said only one bottle is allowed per person per day but I’ll give you one more bottle. And they were small bottles. Not very good when you want to make a cup of tea, clean your teeth etc.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ripleybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for the service you received. I can assure you that we will address this matter accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews