We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pezula Hotel(Knysna)
US$151
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse(Brenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$128
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Under Milkwood Chalets(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Lake Marina(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
254
187
59
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
187
59
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose cafeluxury studiobuilding siteknysna waterfrontwalking distancemodern hotelbedroom apartmentother hotelswater frontwalk in showerbuffet breakfastsmall kitchenstayed here for nightslocation is excellentlounge areanice breakfastnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night, service was good, staff were very helpful and courteous. Suggest that you should make a full fledged restaurant for serving dinner to your guests. This will compliment to your service.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sanjaysinhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. I will most certainly forward your comments onto management for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What more can be said than SUPER FABULOUS!!!!!!
always a joy to stay here, family rooms are perfect, staff friendly and professional, breakfast always tasty. Rooms are always clean and the hotel is situated near all amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bgreyl774390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Once again thank you for choosing The Rex Hotel as your preferred accommodation supplier on the Garden Route.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was the low point of our S African holiday. Our room, in the older area was spacious but difficult to sleep in due due large opaque window to corridor where light was on all night. Very few facilities, breakfast was in tiny cafe, dinner not available on site, we had to eat out. Swimming pool, about same size as large garden inflatable and in shade most of time.Management out of touch with what his hotel offers.
Would not darken their doors again

Room Tip: Don't go there.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the light. I will most certainly pass your comments onto the owners for consideration of a blind.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The reception is something to behold. A simple desk. The breakfast was limited and the eating area was overfull due to a bus load of foreign visitors. The rooms are small and have no views. The building appears like a student residence which was converted into a hotel. The hotel has two separate wings.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kdgarlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value and appreciate all comments received. I will most certainly ask the chef to re-look at the breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Upon arrival at this hotel, we were told there was no bar and only a small cafeteria area for breakfast. On 1st morning, with having 2 coach groups in, there was not enough space for everyone to sit and eat and not much better on 2nd morning. Hotel situated within walking distance of harbour. The manager told us upon arrival that we were given a bottle of water each per day but if we wanted more to ask at reception. When I went and asked for one on the 2nd day, the lady on reception was quite abrupt and said only one bottle is allowed per person per day but I’ll give you one more bottle. And they were small bottles. Not very good when you want to make a cup of tea, clean your teeth etc.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ripleybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuda M, General Manager at aha The Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for the service you received. I can assure you that we will address this matter accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews