We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knysna Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$217
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$136
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brenton Beach House(Brenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shearwater On Sea(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Under Milkwood Chalets(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$131
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Pine Lake Marina(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$156
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
204
96
28
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
96
28
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roomgarden routebreakfast each morningfamily roomhonesty barsecure parkingbreakfast was excellentnice stayquiet locationstayed one nightlovely gardenwaterfront areabeautiful placeminute drivestunning viewserikhosts
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice place, our room was very spacious. Bathroom provided both a tub and shower, and two sinks. Deck was great to visit out on, we ordered pizza one night and had it delivered.
If you are allergic to dogs then you might not want to stay here as there were two dogs roaming freely- more so during breakfast time. The fresh fruit provided with the breakfast bar was wonderful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank TillieAndEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi Tillie and Earl,

Thank you for your positive review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it here. I think misunderstanding. The first morning at breakfast I asked (some of) your group if they had a problem with the dogs and they unanimously said they loved dogs and were fine with them being around. It is our normal policy that our dogs are not allowed in during breakfast, but since you were the only ones in, we thought all of you were happy with that. Sorry to hear we made a miscalculation and we did not know you were allergic to dogs.

Kind regards,
Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Ypie en Eric are real nice people. They'll make your stay as comfortable as possible. Also the lady that welcomes you (I forgot her name) is very very nice. She'll explain everything about Knysna and Africa if you would like that. The breakfast is superb, fresh baked bread en good coffee.
The swimming pool is big and helps you to relax in this beautiful area!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacques869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Wonderful place with the best service.

Nice swimmingpool, lovely rooms, kind and helpfull owners.

Good parking, close to town, good recommendation from the staff what activities we should do.

We can defintely recommend this place.

Regards Alice and the whole family.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We vere travelling the Garden Route and arrived at Knysna Country Hotel on the 25th of January.
When we arrived we felt that the room we got did not qualify as the luxury room stated in the itinerary from African Eagle and compared to other location chosen with same room classification. The booking was made in August last year.
We asked for another room but nothing could be done. We were a group of ten people so we could not leave.
The smell of funghi (mould) was intense. On the wall there was a big spot of funghi. A mirror had been hung over it and the backside of the mirror was covered with funghi. There was a strong smell of funghi in the shower.
The furniture was of low quality and the mats beside the bed were dirty.
The hosts should have taken Noels complaint, from four weeks ago, seriously instead of belitteling him. There was even a complaint from Mada in May 2016 about the same thing which was answered by Erik with arrogance.
An apoligy and a bottle of wine did not make up for our disapointment.
Bjorg

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bjorgkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Bjorg,

Let's first establish that the agent booked standard rooms with us and because we only have 3 of those rooms, we had to upgrade some of your friends. When I asked for a booking voucher, in order to establish that you were under the right impression that luxury room were booked, that voucher was not given to the guide or to any of you. I'd appreciate it if you could email me any information from the agent regarding that.

Your room has a damp problem, but in all honesty, we did not not know about that. That was new to us. But having said that, our guesthouse in built on clay (so is the whole area of Knysna) so it always moves a bit, especially now with the dry weather. We had all the rooms painted etc. in our winter and we really thought that they would be fine again. We would not hang a mirror over problem on purpose, but we would really try to fix it. We know that one can maybe disguise certain thing, but not the smell.

Once again, we apologize for that and we are sorry our gestures of trying to make up a little were not appreciated.

Kind regards,
Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place with stunning views and wonderful breakfast. We were upgraded to the private 'honeymoon suite', a separate room built near the pool, which obviously was awesome. Very nice owners and staff who know hospitality.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pieter_0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews