We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Country House
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

I only spent one evening but the rooms were clean, free wifi, more than enough to eat for breakfast. Friendly staff and hands on owner run. If I stay over again in knysna on business I will go back. Secure parking too

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank derekp591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice place, our room was very spacious. Bathroom provided both a tub and shower, and two sinks. Deck was great to visit out on, we ordered pizza one night and had it delivered.
If you are allergic to dogs then you might not want to stay here as there were two dogs roaming freely- more so during breakfast time. The fresh fruit provided with the breakfast bar was wonderful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank TillieAndEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi Tillie and Earl,

Thank you for your positive review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it here. I think misunderstanding. The first morning at breakfast I asked (some of) your group if they had a problem with the dogs and they unanimously said they loved dogs and were fine with them being around. It is our normal policy that our dogs are not allowed in during breakfast, but since you were the only ones in, we thought all of you were happy with that. Sorry to hear we made a miscalculation and we did not know you were allergic to dogs.

Kind regards,
Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Ypie en Eric are real nice people. They'll make your stay as comfortable as possible. Also the lady that welcomes you (I forgot her name) is very very nice. She'll explain everything about Knysna and Africa if you would like that. The breakfast is superb, fresh baked bread en good coffee.
The swimming pool is big and helps you to relax in this beautiful area!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacques869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Wonderful place with the best service.

Nice swimmingpool, lovely rooms, kind and helpfull owners.

Good parking, close to town, good recommendation from the staff what activities we should do.

We can defintely recommend this place.

Regards Alice and the whole family.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We vere travelling the Garden Route and arrived at Knysna Country Hotel on the 25th of January.
When we arrived we felt that the room we got did not qualify as the luxury room stated in the itinerary from African Eagle and compared to other location chosen with same room classification. The booking was made in August last year.
We asked for another room but nothing could be done. We were a group of ten people so we could not leave.
The smell of funghi (mould) was intense. On the wall there was a big spot of funghi. A mirror had been hung over it and the backside of the mirror was covered with funghi. There was a strong smell of funghi in the shower.
The furniture was of low quality and the mats beside the bed were dirty.
The hosts should have taken Noels complaint, from four weeks ago, seriously instead of belitteling him. There was even a complaint from Mada in May 2016 about the same thing which was answered by Erik with arrogance.
An apoligy and a bottle of wine did not make up for our disapointment.
Bjorg

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bjorgkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Bjorg,

Let's first establish that the agent booked standard rooms with us and because we only have 3 of those rooms, we had to upgrade some of your friends. When I asked for a booking voucher, in order to establish that you were under the right impression that luxury room were booked, that voucher was not given to the guide or to any of you. I'd appreciate it if you could email me any information from the agent regarding that.

Your room has a damp problem, but in all honesty, we did not not know about that. That was new to us. But having said that, our guesthouse in built on clay (so is the whole area of Knysna) so it always moves a bit, especially now with the dry weather. We had all the rooms painted etc. in our winter and we really thought that they would be fine again. We would not hang a mirror over problem on purpose, but we would really try to fix it. We know that one can maybe disguise certain thing, but not the smell.

Once again, we apologize for that and we are sorry our gestures of trying to make up a little were not appreciated.

Kind regards,
Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.2 km away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
33 reviews
2.0 km away
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
5.8 km away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
6.8 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: R904 - R2 059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing