We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$133
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pezula Hotel(Knysna)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Under Milkwood Chalets(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shearwater On Sea(Sedgefield)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$167
US$158
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teniqua Treetops(Sedgefield)
US$100
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
178
80
29
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
80
29
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseorchid roomclubhouse bargolf shopbedroom suitegas fireplaceexcellent golfknysna headsplaying golfgolf tourrestaurant staffbreakfast was includedthe general managerunderfloor heatinground of golfamazing viewsstar hotel
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I who are avid golfers came and spent 2 nights in one of your twin rooms. On arrival we were greeted by Thembi with a radiant smile. Our room was clean and just what we needed. We chose to have dinner at the Orchid room and were seated by friendly Honest and then served by Bubbly Beauty and Bianca. Our meal was absolutely delicious and worth ever Rand, the tomato soup and kingklip was a meal we will definitely come back for.

The next day we played 18 holes and the course was in pristine condition, and it was wonderful playing on our favourite course in the world (not once but twice). Most pro shop employees at other courses are arrogant and miserable but Lara was always smiling and willing to help.

Our spa experience was also great and my fiancé who is usually hard to please, and is a "mans-man" who "doesn't see the point in spa days", thoroughly enjoyed the spa and has now changed his feelings towards spa's (which is great for my birthday present prospects as he now has some ideas on what to get me next).

All in all I want to thank Simola for making our weekend so special and all the staff that we mentioned I hope that this message gets passed on to them. Thembi and Honest enkosi kakhulu!

We look forward to our next weekend stay at Simola in the near future!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank adriennekruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Good afternoon

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed every minute at Simola.

I will pass your message on to all the staff and management.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Linda Kemp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This was a truly magnificent stay.The apartment was amazingly spacious,comfortable,grand bedroom and huge ensuite.Under floor heating.Balcony beautiful view of golf course and Knysna Bay.The restaurant beautiful food and nice bar area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Good afternoon Debbie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We so please that you enjoyed your stay at Simola Hotel & Golf Estate and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Linda Kemp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Always a pleasure to have the privilage to stay at Simola, After a long absence, Patrick recognised me as I came into the foyer. What a welcome. Bless you, Patrick. Thanks.

Rooms always clean, comfortable. Could not want for more.

Facilities are always great, catering and choice substantial. Despite the recent devastating fires in Knysna, the setting remains unique and beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F234DIgrahamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Good afternoon DIgrahamb

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Simola.

It most certainly was lovely welcoming you back to Simola.

Kindest regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Excellent stay - great rooms, food and amazing spa! Unfortunately, I did not get onto the golf course, but i will definitely do that on my next visit to Simola Hotel Country Club and Spa.

I would definitely recommend Simola to any guest, whether business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sesekii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Good afternoon Sesekii

Thanks very much for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Simola Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic if you wish to play golf ⛳️ as this is a very challenging course designed by Jack Nicholas. It will keep you on your toes. As for the rooms they are quite tired and in need of serious sprucing up. This is a time share resort so possibly this has something to do with the state of the rooms and the owners not doing the up keep it the resort not notifying the owners of issues. All the tiles on the floors are quite badly chipped or cracked. The carpet is badly stained and the grout in the shower is disgusting. Full of black mould and they need a complete overhaul. Wifi good. Service good. Food ok. Lovely outlook over the valley and to the ocean below in the distance. Rooms are nice and big they just need a good renovation. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debridley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, Guest Relations Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Good afternoon Mr Debridley

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Simola is not a time share resort. We have fractional owners as well as Private Suite owners.

I will see to all the little problems that you have reported in your review.

We hope to welcome you back to Simola in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews