We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay-luxury and fabulous location but needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

3 night stay, not the easiest place to locate, as its somewhat tucked away up the mountainside, just outside Knysna, so recommend a sat nav.
Checking in was not the most friendliest and welcoming, compared to other 4/5 star hotels we had stayed in along this trip over the last 7-10 days, so perhaps a little training on customer service and empathy would be welcomed.
Standard room was allocated, which was not satisfactory and not what we had in mind given the money paid, requested an upgrade or an alternative room, and this was met with great awkwardness and as though it was of great trouble and inconvenience. web site indicates the Simola offers 5 star experience- this was 1.
Eventually we moved to a luxury suite nearby. Not really made up for the next guests(us) as (no towels & nail clippings were present) but given it was after 9pm , late, we were thankful for anything.
Breakfast was totally different- yes 5 star, customer driven staff, happy, smiling, engaging and focus on delivering a 5 star product.
Breakfast was excellent, with a wide selection to cater for all nationalities staying, freshly cooked eggs, bacon, sausages etc.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, as we had made alternative arrangements, but the evening menu appeared good and varied.
Experienced the golf whilst at the hotel, great course and again, staff involved were engaging and helpful.
What would have been helpful, had been prior notice the indoor pool / spa had been closed for repair and maintaining during our stay, as the outdoor pool was a little chilly and at this time of year (1st week in October) outside temps are 16-20 degrees.
so in summary, its 4 star, needs certain improvements in its reception/ front of house operation , bedroom maid service, but needs to improve to remain competitive with the likes of other 5 star hotels nearby.

Room Tip: choose a luxury suite in blocks C or D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good evening Mark

Thank you for your detailed review.

We do apologise for the Spa being closed, we had a unforeseen maintenance problem. This was not planned and unfortunately out of our control.

We hope to welcome you back to Simola in the near future.

Kindest regards

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 250 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I who are avid golfers came and spent 2 nights in one of your twin rooms. On arrival we were greeted by Thembi with a radiant smile. Our room was clean and just what we needed. We chose to have dinner at the Orchid room and were seated by friendly Honest and then served by Bubbly Beauty and Bianca. Our meal was absolutely delicious and worth ever Rand, the tomato soup and kingklip was a meal we will definitely come back for.

The next day we played 18 holes and the course was in pristine condition, and it was wonderful playing on our favourite course in the world (not once but twice). Most pro shop employees at other courses are arrogant and miserable but Lara was always smiling and willing to help.

Our spa experience was also great and my fiancé who is usually hard to please, and is a "mans-man" who "doesn't see the point in spa days", thoroughly enjoyed the spa and has now changed his feelings towards spa's (which is great for my birthday present prospects as he now has some ideas on what to get me next).

All in all I want to thank Simola for making our weekend so special and all the staff that we mentioned I hope that this message gets passed on to them. Thembi and Honest enkosi kakhulu!

We look forward to our next weekend stay at Simola in the near future!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Good afternoon

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed every minute at Simola.

I will pass your message on to all the staff and management.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Linda Kemp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This was a truly magnificent stay.The apartment was amazingly spacious,comfortable,grand bedroom and huge ensuite.Under floor heating.Balcony beautiful view of golf course and Knysna Bay.The restaurant beautiful food and nice bar area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Good afternoon Debbie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We so please that you enjoyed your stay at Simola Hotel & Golf Estate and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Linda Kemp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Always a pleasure to have the privilage to stay at Simola, After a long absence, Patrick recognised me as I came into the foyer. What a welcome. Bless you, Patrick. Thanks.

Rooms always clean, comfortable. Could not want for more.

Facilities are always great, catering and choice substantial. Despite the recent devastating fires in Knysna, the setting remains unique and beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F234DIgrahamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Good afternoon DIgrahamb

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Simola.

It most certainly was lovely welcoming you back to Simola.

Kindest regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Excellent stay - great rooms, food and amazing spa! Unfortunately, I did not get onto the golf course, but i will definitely do that on my next visit to Simola Hotel Country Club and Spa.

I would definitely recommend Simola to any guest, whether business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sesekii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Good afternoon Sesekii

Thanks very much for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Simola Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
8.6 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
4.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.9 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
27.9 km away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
103 reviews
3.2 km away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: R3 151 - R16 468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing