We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fmansingh
Johannesburg, South Africa

Boutique hotel with lovely staff and views

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Apr 2024via mobile
Views: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Food: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Room:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
We had a fantastic stay at The Mount Knysna, which is a small, boutique hotel close to the viewpoint of the two heads. Staff are attentive and the hotel is homely. We were slightly early for check in which was accommodated without mention, and check out was smooth and efficient. Definitely do catch dinner at Second Story, and dig into the hotel’s very good South African wine cellar. We caught a movie at the in house movie theatre, with freshly popped popcorn, drinks and snacks. Breakfast every morning was such a treat too.
The pool is heated with a spectacular view of the lagoon.
Uber works well in Knysna but we hired a car, and the hotel has free parking.
A quaint hotel with personal touches brought by the lovely staff!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 000
R 1 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 000
  • Priceline
    R 1 900
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 000
1.5 km from The Mount Knysna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 924
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 926
  • Vio.com
    R 1 557
  • Priceline
    R 1 640
0.8 km from The Mount Knysna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 400
  • Priceline
    R 1 400
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 400
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 400
3.6 km from The Mount Knysna
Free parking
Pool
R 2 400
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 400
  • eDreams
    R 2 400
  • ZenHotels.com
4.6 km from The Mount Knysna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 318
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 317
  • Vio.com
    R 2 143
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 318
4.3 km from The Mount Knysna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 980
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 2 000
  • Algotels
    R 1 958
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 000
4.7 km from The Mount Knysna
Free Wifi
Pool
Premier TheMoorings Conference External View
R 1 498
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 570
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 349
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 570
3.3 km from The Mount Knysna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
R 1 950
R 1 326
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 949
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 950
  • Priceline
    R 1 326
4.8 km from The Mount Knysna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 603
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 919
  • Vio.com
    R 1 425
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 901
24.3 km from The Mount Knysna
Free parking
Pool
Our comfortable, stylish room.
R 690
  • Expedia.com
    R 690
  • Hotels.com
    R 690
  • Trip.com
    R 690
27.8 km from The Mount Knysna
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Knysna
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
87
5
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
5
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool boutique hotel very special place enjoyable stay attention to detail views accommodations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2024

We recently visited Knysna and stayed at the Mount Knysna for a few days and I have to say, the Mount Knysna is a really great hotel. It did exceed my expectations and I definitely would not hesitate going back and they have my 100% recommendation

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nlaure126652
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2023

We had a great time!!! Our waiter(Banele Mana) was committed to great service and he was very friendly and helpful , always smiling making sure we having great time❤️❤️. food was delicious , the Atmosphere👌definetly coming back .

Thank you so much The Mount Knysna👍❤️

Room tip: Everything is perfect
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveler04066396058
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2023 via mobile

We had a good experience during our 3-night stay. The positives are definitely the views, Knysna bay on the one side and the ocean on the other. The location is quiet up the hill but still very close to knysna (10mins by car)
We had a private terrace right next to the
infinity pool. The pool was ice cold though.
The staff were very responsive and helpful before arriving with eg suggestions for NY Eve.
There was a lot of goodwill from the staff to accommodate our needs during our stay. Even when we had left we forgot something in the room and they sent it per express mail to our next hotel so that is very good service.
The room was a good size and clean, had a big walk-in shower as well as a desk and a king-size bed.

The areas for improvement (especially in light of being a 5* boutique hotel) are that there should be more proactive attention to detail: pool towels should be readily available, after a day of hiking I had to go look for pool towels as they were not in the room. When we booked dinner and arrived 15mins after our booking time the table wasn’t ready. My husband ordered steak but didn’t receive a steak knife until he asked. The menu had burrata, venison and cod but these items were not available. There was no ice tea (which I think is a basic soft drink). For every breakfast there was something missing on the table: a knife, napkins, glasses… so we had to ask. So small things that could improve the experience.

Overall our experience was very enjoyable and we loved the area, the views and the quietness. The place has so much potential that with a bit of thought and attention to service and detail it can really be at the next level.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shanna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at Mount Knysna in August. Everything about this place was wonderful. The views are beyond compare. It’s hard not to keep taking photos. The accommodations are wonderful. The staff is amazing. They went out of their way to make sure everything was wonderful. It was by far the BEST food we had in Knysna! And, a real treat was watching a film in the movie theater! Thank you, Jordan, and to all the staff who made our stay so wonderful.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kawilliams57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Weir Smith, Owner at The Mount Knysna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Good Day Karen,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you all enjoyed the rest of your time in South Africa.

We hope to welcome you back to Knysna again soon.

Regards
Heine Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2022

What an amazing venue - the staff is super helpful, the view is amazing and you cannot find anything wrong - big rooms, great service, and an awesome wine collection - can definitely recommend anyone who wants to be spoiled and pampered and just enjoy luxury to visit The Mount Knysna

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews