We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place with great dessert”
Review of Pear Tree

Pear Tree
Ranked #6 of 139 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Description: The name Pear tree originated from the chef Petri, He worked in several establishments around the world and his name abroad was Pear tree as no one could call him by his real name This unique Bistro overlooks the old harbour in Hermanus We pride ourselves in serving fresh food with an interesting menu, in a cozy atmosphere with friendly hearty service We make use of local produce and our wine list compiles of majority local wines and beer We are based in the Village Square Piazza Hermanus
Restaurant details
Description: The name Pear tree originated from the chef Petri, He worked in several establishments around the world and his name abroad was Pear tree as no one could call him by his real name This unique Bistro overlooks the old harbour in Hermanus We pride ourselves in serving fresh food with an interesting menu, in a cozy atmosphere with friendly hearty service We make use of local produce and our wine list compiles of majority local wines and beer We are based in the Village Square Piazza Hermanus
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Main course was a little bland although well presented. Cute small restaurant with character. The desserts were to die for and so well put together and presented. Nice location in a quaint town.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Seema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1 173 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Pear Tree was the perfect complement to our stay in Hermanus. Even though the restaurant was fully booked for the evening, they managed to accommodate us before our reservation and offered first class service and food.
We had the spring rolls as starters, then pork belly and pulled lamb tagliatelle as main courses, which were absolutely delicious.
The wine selection is quite interesting, and the location is very charming.
Thanks to Stephen for the great service!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 2205_Vitoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We had the king prawns with chorizo and a burger for dinner. The food was very tasty and the restaurant definitely focuses on the taste! The combo and taste combinations were just awesome. You have to make a reservation though. The interior is beautiful and very modern stylish. The service ist also very great.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank I1635LPpatrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We asked Stephen what he recommended he gave his thoughts then we asked what wine. Again he gave his thoughts. We went with them. Absolutely brilliant “pearing” excuse pun, pulled lamb and the pork belly with a surprise choice of Pinot Grigio. It’s lovely watching the square and people playing giant chess Lookout for Stephen

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Dxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Great hospitality, friendly and warm staff, excellent location in the center of town and delicious lamb pasta and pan fried hake.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Randall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pear Tree also viewed

 

Been to Pear Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing