We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
Review of Pear Tree

Pear Tree
Ranked #6 of 138 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Description: The name Pear tree originated from the chef Petri, He worked in several establishments around the world and his name abroad was Pear tree as no one could call him by his real name This unique Bistro overlooks the old harbour in Hermanus We pride ourselves in serving fresh food with an interesting menu, in a cozy atmosphere with friendly hearty service We make use of local produce and our wine list compiles of majority local wines and beer We are based in the Village Square Piazza Hermanus
Restaurant details
Description: The name Pear tree originated from the chef Petri, He worked in several establishments around the world and his name abroad was Pear tree as no one could call him by his real name This unique Bistro overlooks the old harbour in Hermanus We pride ourselves in serving fresh food with an interesting menu, in a cozy atmosphere with friendly hearty service We make use of local produce and our wine list compiles of majority local wines and beer We are based in the Village Square Piazza Hermanus
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant as we were looking to eat lunch. The miso crusted hake written on the blackboard caught our attention. The food was absolutely delicious! We had the fried calamari, hake and calamari steak. We were happy with everything! The service was also great! Wish we could have returned for supper :)

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1 172 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018

We topped our final night in Hermanus with a dinner at the Pear Tree and I can't say enough wonderful things about our experience. The service, the food, the wine...everything was just the best.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

I have always rated this restaurant highly as one of the best establishments in Hermanus however tonight was a real let down !
Having just traveled from the USA via London via Johannesburg arrived in a Hermanus, weary and wanted a good square meal and The Pear Tree has always provided well, I ordered Calamari for a starter which was delivered promptly with the Pinot noir and the sparking water !
It was a bit of a wait for my main choice of Short Rib but after asking a few times was told the kitchen was extremely busy so patiently waited !
The main arrived and the vegetable base was delicious so tucked in and then cut into the short rib. What s disappointment ! It was dry but I persisted until I discovered the fat was cold and congealed .....nasty ! I left the rest and was offered a replacement but declined as I had eaten the vegetable base
The manager did come and offered another plate but that would have been excessive food so declined leaving most of the short rib !

I requested the bill and as a regular didn’t expect I would be charged the full amount but however I was. Sadly not what I have become used to at this establishment. Beware the short rib was prepared earlier and NOT properly heated through

Very disappointed ..paid the bill in full without any offer of a discount or real apology
Moving on ... hopefully some new restaurants will open and challenge this opportunity to take the reins of better food and service !

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 23Mikey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Great service and fantastic food. The milkshakes are to die for but I would advise having them for pudding - not before your dinner - very filling. I would advise booking this restaurant in advance. It was packed on a Wednesday night!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JULIE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

We had been travelling for over a week and were becoming increasingly picky with the many menus we had put in front of us but this place really hit the spot. We shared a mixed seafood/chicken and rib platter for two which was well presented, tasty and great value (<R200 for two). Other food dishes being delivered all looked great. The staff were attentive and pleasant and the location overlooked the sea. A little gem of a place amongst many restaurants.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KeithJSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pear Tree also viewed

 

Been to Pear Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing