We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nikita
Parow, South Africa

Break away from busy Cape Town

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Sept 2020
Our two night's stay at The Potting Shed was extraordinary. We were welcomed by the hosts and friendly staff. The room was very beautiful. It was clean and everything was catered for. The outside area was very nice. I spent most of my time there. The breakfast was fantastic and on our second day we were treated with homemade bread and blueberry muffins. So scrumptious!

Definitely a place I will visit again.
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Potting Shed Accommodation, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review
Responded 19 Apr 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 1 822
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 109
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 774
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 109
0.5 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 520
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 475
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 295
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 475
0.4 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 440
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 440
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 013
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 298
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 567
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 181
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 567
0.4 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 4 450
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 073
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 527
  • Priceline
1.0 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 8 200
R 6 000
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 000
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 000
  • Tripadvisor
    R 6 000
10.6 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 2 124
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 360
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 712
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 360
3.9 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 988
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 988
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 988
  • Priceline
0.9 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 616
R 1 379
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 492
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 492
  • Priceline
5.3 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 120
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from The Potting Shed Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hermanus
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveller rating
631
256
30
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
631
256
30
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread ann marie studio room guest house one night an excellent place to stay nice breakfast warm welcome town centre friendly hosts small pool walking distance breakfast room whale watching enjoyable stay the cliff a lovely stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 932 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2020

The Potting Shed is a lovely little B&B run by a very friendly and welcoming couple. We arrived the night before my partners birthday and we arrived at breakfast the next morning to find that they had decorated the table with birthday decorations and a bottle of fizz for her and the rest of our party.
Throughout our stay they could do enough for us. They made us feel very welcome and were excellent hosts.
The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. They were nicely decorated and had all of the facilities that we needed.
The breakfasts were very good and there was a choice of freshly cooked options available.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 847samc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Potting Shed Accommodation, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

So glad you could help make the birthday special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2020

We have stayed in Hermanus many times and at different places. The Potting Shed is by far the best!
The hosts, Annamarie & Dave, are welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. Not to mention the delicious breakfast, and smart and very helpful staff. They also know the local area very well and give good advice on restaurants and excursions, as well as making any required reservations. They also arranged medical assistance when I was having a problem.
The Potting Shed is in a great location, just a very short walk from the town centre where there are some nice restaurants and a supermarket. There is a new shopping mall a few minutes drive away.
Since we found the Potting Shed, about 7 years ago, we would not stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Janjan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Potting Shed Accommodation, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2023

Thank you so much for those lovely comments. Please come again soon - it's been too long! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2020

Had a wonderful 1 night stay at The Potting Shed. The property and the rooms are beautifully done. Annemarie and David are fantastic hosts with a great knowledge of what to do in the area. The breakfast was a true highlight - with a generous array of fruit, preserves, homemade bread and rusks and pancakes to die for! Definitely would recommend The Potting Shead for anyone looking for an escape from the city :)

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Potting Shed Accommodation, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Thank you Amy! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020 via mobile

We stay only two nights in the guesthouse, and due to coronavirus we had to move our booking and they were very understanding!
The house is very comfy, the rooms are very clean, they have a TV &games room that you can use. And the best of all was the amazing breakfast!!!
We definitely recommend it!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank isidoracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annamarie Sales, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us during this crazy, difficult time with Corona. We hope you will return soon - stay safe.

Annamarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

The Potting Shed is a very customer friendly and comfortable guesthouse with lovely hosts Dave and Annamarie.
On walking distance from seaside and city centre it is perfectly placed in the nature and art loving village of Hermanus.
The top service made it a wonderfull two days stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank berendg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annamarie Sales, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Thank you Berend! Take care. :)

Annamarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews