We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have thought of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #12 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Dave and his wife are living their dream in Hermanus and by running such a superb guest house are helping visitors to South Africa to live their's too. The room we had was, like the service we were given, beyond criticism. The attention to detail was really impressive and matched the welcome we received. Anyone visiting Hermanus can book The Potting Shed with total confidence. Thank you, Dave, for making us so welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Montmelardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. Yes, we really are living our dream... hard to believe we only came to SA for a 3 week holiday from UK back in 2003! Hermanus is a wonderful place and we love to give our guests a great holiday experience.

Annamarie (& Dave)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Although clean and nicely decorated please note:
- a room facing the sea DOES NOT mean you have a few of the sea it means the block of flats is facing towards the sea. We got a "sea facing" unit behind another unit with a garden in the little space between buildings
- terrible wifi signal like zero
- a few minutes from promenade is not THE TOWN promenade and the other side of the old harbor so its far away from town

Room Tip: Please stipulate you would like a room with a sea view (to see the sea) not in the direction of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina Ideia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Lina, As stated on the Home page of our website "All flatlets are in the 2nd row back of properties".... but are indeed FACING the sea. The walkway to the sea is approximately 90 metres from the patio door. The photos displayed on our website were taken from inside the apartment looking out to the sea. If you look closely you can see that there are properties in front, either side of the sea-view. Yes the view from the apartments are slightly obscured - but are SEA FACING. We also clearly state that the apartments are at Whale Rock Estate which is 1km from the New Harbour and 3kms from the Old harbour and TOWN centre.

The Wi-Fi is extremely frustrating at times in Hermanus (especially at Whale Rock Estate). Until a few years ago it was not possible to get an Internet connection at Whale Rock at all. We pay for the fastest speed, and constantly chase up our service provider. However, unfortunately - the internet connection/speed is out of out control. It is very intermittent. Anyone reading this review should please take in to account that the Wi-Fi is not great at these apartments. We do advise in the info book (in the apartment) that there could be a problem, and offer the use of the WI-FI at our guest house (also for free!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This guesthouse is located a 10 minute walk from the bay. Our room was very cosy and clean, but rather small, especially when you are traveling around and you live out of your suitcase. The weather wasn't warm enough to use the swimming pool but we can imagine it can be nice in summer. The host was very helpful; he called the boat company in the morning to check wether the boats would get out because the weather was kind of windy. Also good was the fact that we could park the car in the back, also better than leave it on the street.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido-Krystyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

very nice place to stay, beautiful room with handpainted flowers on the wall, lovely. breakfast was very nice! friendly staff. you can walk to the centre of the town and the sea to see the whales, great.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gerdaopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Very nice and cosy bnb. Breakfast was beyond standard, particularly the pancakes with the lemon/passion fruit (?) jam. Room was small but very well heated. Hermanus centre is close, still we went there by car as the way seemed a bit dark, but there was lots of parking available, so no problem at all.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas83H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0,4 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
977 reviews
0,6 km away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#19 of 87 in Hermanus
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,5 km away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
400 reviews
0,4 km away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
693 reviews
4,5 km away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#11 of 87 in Hermanus
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: R944 - R1 379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing