We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #13 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2015

It has everything you can ask for a guesthouse. Rooms that are clean, with a good bed and shower. Friendly service, very good advise about spots and restaurants to visit and the breakfast is really top! The guesthouse is on walking distance from the beach and centre. No critical points at all? Yes, a bit more space in the rooms would improve the stay. However, it is a top guesthouse we would warmly recommend. Haye Galama (Netherlands)

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HayeGalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you had a good stay and like our breakfast. (Our standard rooms are the smallest). The deluxe and studio room are much more spacious.

Warm wishes for the coming festive season. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2015

Property was clean and inviting. Close enough for a nice walk into the town center. Breakfast was excellent.
Annamarie and David were very personable and helpful.
We truly enjoyed our stay in Hermanus because of them.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Thank you for your lovely review. It's always so uplifting to hear positive comments on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Unfortunately we had just one day in Hermanus. We still wanted to do the cage diving with sharks and Whale watching. Immediately after arrival the owner of the B&B went out of her way to arrange that for us and succeeded.
The room was very clean and cosy, the atmosphere very friendly. When you are in Hermanus, go to the Potting Shed!
Tijn Kuiters, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tijnk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Thank you Tijn for your lovely review. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

We have been at the Potting Shed Guest House for only one night but despite the fact one of the ladies in charge of the breakfast was sick, Annamarie, the manager and another employee did their best for ensuring an appropriate service.
Nice room but a bit small for 2 people with their luggage.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank lguiode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review us - however I'm a bit intrigued by your comment regarding breakfast. We don't have any "ladies" that work in the kitchen? I'm the cook, Dave is the waiter and Doreen helps us as needed - just the 3 of us.

The standard rooms are the smallest & a cheaper rate than the deluxe or studio room. The cupboards in the standard rooms have been purposely built to take 2 suitcases.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

The Potting Shed - self catering apartment.


This was our third stay on the Whale Rock Estate and the second staying with the Potting Shed and using one of their self catering apartments. This time we spent a very enjoyable 17 days in the apartment.

We stayed in the same apartment that we had used the previous year and on arrival Dave had made us a lovely loaf of bread and when we entered the apartment a wonderful gift from the Potting Shed was waiting for us and half way through our stay Annamarie had made us some of her tasty lemon curd and more whale cookies and rusks.

Once again the apartment was well equipped, very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Towels were plentiful and these and bed linen were changed every 5 days along with a clean of the apartment. It is a very homely apartment and as on our previous stay we enjoyed using the dining area watching the world go by, listening to the birds, watching the waves and trying to spot a whale or two.

The complex was still immaculate with very friendly staff. On this trip we used the pool on several occasions and enjoyed sitting in the garden by the pool.

Annamarie and Dave are passionate about caring for their guests and making their stay with them enjoyable. Nothing seems too much trouble for them and we have recommended the Potting Shed as a place to stay if you visit Hermanus on our return home to several people who are interested in vsiting the Hermanus area.

Thank you to you and your team for another brilliant stay in Hermanus and possibly we can come back next year and see you all again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Always lovely to have returning guests and especially great to see you guys each time. Thank you for reviewing us and your support in following our Facebook page.

See you again soon,
Annamarie & Dave xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0,4 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
977 reviews
0,6 km away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#19 of 87 in Hermanus
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,5 km away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
399 reviews
0,4 km away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
691 reviews
4,5 km away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#15 of 87 in Hermanus
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: R948 - R1 386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing