We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
470
231
70
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
231
70
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage cottagelovely hotelhoneymoon suitefour poster bedcupcakestop floorpool areabuffet breakfastfew minutes walkrooms are largemain buildingfirst floorcentre of townwhale watchingsea frontstayed here for one nightpublic areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This hotel is well-located along the waterfront in Hermanus, yet just far enough away from the busiest touristy area. The lobby and common spaces are unexpectedly magnificent, like an old mansion. Our rooms were large and very comfortable, although the bathroom in one of the penthouse suites was weirdly situated at the entrance to the room, and that room has no balcony, so try to avoid it (sorry, I don't remember the room number). The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were large and well-appointed. Breakfast at the adjacent restaurant was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddesalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Guest

We appreciate your lovely review and positive comments.
Have brought your comment about the balcony to the attention of the owners and they are already planning to add a balcony as this is one of the most popular rooms.
have a magnificent sea view.
Appreciated!

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Extremely helpful staff and a great location. We had a huge garden room with a sea view. Great restaurants nearby.Breakfast was good. I would recommend this hotel.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Guest

We appreciate your lovely review.
Thank you very much!
Would love to welcome you back.
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

just married, me and my new bride spend a few lovely days here. its simply beyond compare. highly recommended. will have to make this a annual trip :) thank you for making our days memorable and special x

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eugene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This is an excellent hotel nicely located in Hermanus within walking distance to town and port.
Very friendly arrival and check-in and Sam (the GM) couldn't do enough to help us in booking car hire and restaurants.
The pool area is small but nice and clean but must recommend the private cinema where Ryan put on the rugby and football for us - a great facility.
We had an annexe family room (for 2 people) which was massive and great value.
Will be back to stay again !

Room Tip: Use the cinema - you can select a film !
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

For a fifth year we have come to Misty Waves for two weeks and for a fifth year we have enjoyed every moment. We love it because it is so very much a family affair and the Lerm family are a delight. One real up front star of the show is the beautifully elegant Samantha, Head Manager, an ageless Tinkerbell figure for whom nothing is too much trouble. And working alongside her on reception:.... the amazing and lovely Nobs with the biggest smile in Hermanus, Nicoline,who is not only pretty but is the politest and most modest girl in the world, the handsome and vivacious Lorenzo and the super courteous Ryan who appears totally unphased by anything and should have been part of the Downton Abbey cast. Housekeeper Shelly-Ann goes quietly about the hotel covering a countless multitude of things both small and great which makes her one of the unsung stars of the show. Samantha will introduce you to her friend the hotel cat Misty who ensures he is the only cat around and (for those not over-fond of cats) is spotlessly clean. These are all great people who create the perfect hotel with kind courtesy, charm, and much good humour.. Cheerful General Workers are always at hand. Be sure to look out for the never to be repeated Andries who has been with the family for some thirty five years. He together with such as James, Desmond and George are always there to help and will not allow you carry anything without their assistance. The bedrooms are fabulous, spacious and comfortable.... and there is a great variety so do ask about different choices. The ladies who clean the rooms go about their duties quietly and politely and will also ensure you have everything you need. After a Misty Waves breakfast we personally have no need of lunch... a huge choice of fresh fruit, cold meats, and a fine choice of cooked goodies. And if you cant find something you like it will be there for you next day. In our case it was blueberries! Charming and friendly service.
Finally the hotel atmosphere is one of great tranquility and peacefulness. Of course there are the occasional moments when there is busy bustle when a lot of new guests arrive, but before long the impressive main hall returns to its usual calm with just a tiny suggestion of music in the background which echoes very quietly up and around the mounting staircase .... although after a few days you may have heard 'Fur Elise' or 'Don't cry for me Argentina' possibly just once too often!! But that is being very picky and I only slip it in in case you thought I had no criticisms at all!
They say there is no place like home and that is true. But if I ever had a second home I think Misty Waves would be it.
Robert Prance from Salisbury, England.
,

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Robertpenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello to the Prances:

Our special guests and by now hotel family very dear to us.
This is a delayed thank you for the very precious comments.
Little Tinkerbell just left today to the UK to visit her ailing mom.
Your lovely comments was received with joy and appreciation by each
and every one mentioned by you.
Misty after special attention growing to be his HUGE old self. But still as feisty as only he can be.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
love to all
Maxie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews