We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Magic of Misty Waves Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Magic of Misty Waves Hotel”
Reviewed 13 February 2017

For a fifth year we have come to Misty Waves for two weeks and for a fifth year we have enjoyed every moment. We love it because it is so very much a family affair and the Lerm family are a delight. One real up front star of the show is the beautifully elegant Samantha, Head Manager, an ageless Tinkerbell figure for whom nothing is too much trouble. And working alongside her on reception:.... the amazing and lovely Nobs with the biggest smile in Hermanus, Nicoline,who is not only pretty but is the politest and most modest girl in the world, the handsome and vivacious Lorenzo and the super courteous Ryan who appears totally unphased by anything and should have been part of the Downton Abbey cast. Housekeeper Shelly-Ann goes quietly about the hotel covering a countless multitude of things both small and great which makes her one of the unsung stars of the show. Samantha will introduce you to her friend the hotel cat Misty who ensures he is the only cat around and (for those not over-fond of cats) is spotlessly clean. These are all great people who create the perfect hotel with kind courtesy, charm, and much good humour.. Cheerful General Workers are always at hand. Be sure to look out for the never to be repeated Andries who has been with the family for some thirty five years. He together with such as James, Desmond and George are always there to help and will not allow you carry anything without their assistance. The bedrooms are fabulous, spacious and comfortable.... and there is a great variety so do ask about different choices. The ladies who clean the rooms go about their duties quietly and politely and will also ensure you have everything you need. After a Misty Waves breakfast we personally have no need of lunch... a huge choice of fresh fruit, cold meats, and a fine choice of cooked goodies. And if you cant find something you like it will be there for you next day. In our case it was blueberries! Charming and friendly service.
Finally the hotel atmosphere is one of great tranquility and peacefulness. Of course there are the occasional moments when there is busy bustle when a lot of new guests arrive, but before long the impressive main hall returns to its usual calm with just a tiny suggestion of music in the background which echoes very quietly up and around the mounting staircase .... although after a few days you may have heard 'Fur Elise' or 'Don't cry for me Argentina' possibly just once too often!! But that is being very picky and I only slip it in in case you thought I had no criticisms at all!
They say there is no place like home and that is true. But if I ever had a second home I think Misty Waves would be it.
Robert Prance from Salisbury, England.
,

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertpenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 5 April 2017
Hello to the Prances:

Our special guests and by now hotel family very dear to us.
This is a delayed thank you for the very precious comments.
Little Tinkerbell just left today to the UK to visit her ailing mom.
Your lovely comments was received with joy and appreciation by each
and every one mentioned by you.
Misty after special attention growing to be his HUGE old self. But still as feisty as only he can be.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
love to all
Maxie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    210
    67
    20
    16
See reviews for
101
452
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We were recommended Misty Waves as a place to stay in Hermanus. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The hotel decor is very stylish, actually quite ornate. We had a "honeymoon suite" which overlooks the pool and the sea. Four poster bed and enormous bathroom. Lovely little touches like cupcakes in the fridge, complimentary bottle of wine and flowers and chocolates on your pillow at night. The restaurant is separate so you can't charge to your room but it all works fine. The pool is small but adequate and we always found a space. The whole experience has been wonderful.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel with real sea view. The rockey coast is just in front of you and you hear the waves smashing on the rocks. The restaurant is offering a nice surprising menu. The service is great.
Walking distance from Hermanus centre.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We stayed for a couple of nights in Misty Waves on our tour of the Garden Route. What a charming hotel. Helpul attentive staff. Beautiful rooms. Lovely pool area. Secure parking. Easy walking distance to the center. We loved our stay and hope to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkerod, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Our room was booked by friends and it met our expections in full. It was large, had a big bathroom and a fine view over the garden and sea. The service on arrival was excelent and very helpful. Parking facilities secure and good. Breakfast was good and as we had an early golfbooking we had it served half an hour earlier than the opening hour. However, the lightning in the bathroom is too weak.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nielsjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
0.8 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
4.2 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
0.4 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price range (per night): R1 333 - R3 114
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing