We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

This was the 3rd stop we had on our recent trip to Cape Town celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed for 3 nights at Misty Waves and I couldn't get myself to pack my bag the morning we were due to check out. This is a beautiful place. My jaw dropped when we walked into the check-in area. No photos do justice to this little hotel. The rooms are so pretty, exquisite and so well prepared. When we checked in Andries helped us settling in. What a sweet guy this was!! Management are so lucky to have this quality staff. The only hick up we had was ordering dinner from the restaurant down stairs the night before we left, which was extremely busy by the sound on the telephone when we called, and they accidentally delivered it to the wrong room. But, we eventually got it and it was worth the wait. This hotel is walking distance from almost everything. And they have an in-house Cinema. We never got to make use of it, but will next time! We will definitely be back. But this time for longer. The only thing I would like to ask is please do not put me in a single bed away from my husband again!! Well done to the Owner, Management & Staff.

Room Tip: Sea view room, definitely sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, 11 January 2017

Dear Rina M,
Thank you for your lovely review. Three days is just not long enough to experience all that The Misty Waves & Hermanus has to offer, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
We have a variety of room options, but can easily make the bed as one if it has twin beds. – please just advise us before arrival and we will happily ensure you are not away from your husband next time
Andries has worked at the hotel since it opened, and has worked for the owners for over 40 years!! He is a tremendous asset to The Misty Waves team, and we are very proud of all our staff who regularly go the extra mile for our guests.
Thanks once again for your comments, and I look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    204
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
93
436
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Very neat, great views, great service, calm atmosphere. We stayed in room 501, which is on a higher floor and quite spacious and private. The restaurant and road might be disturbing if you are a light sleeper. In that case i suggest you book in the Annex to the rear of the site. Will most certainly go back and can highly recommend.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

One of the nicest places you can stay in South Africa, let alone in Hermanus. They aim for excellence and succeed! Attention is paid to the smallest detail, wonderful friendly service and stunning facilities.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prodermsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights with our two young daughters; we stayed in the Annex so that we could all share the room; the entire staff were very friendly and helpful; the breakfasts were top class. I particularly liked the way the restaurant manager at breakfast dealt with her staff; when a plate dropped to the floor and smashed, there was a kind word of encouragement and a gentle touch, we were very impressed - if you treat your staff well, then the customers will also be treated well. We will be booking again for next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed over last night in room 506. Was very impressed by the attention to detail in terms of the decor. The hotel has this gorgeous european theme. This was complete with Misty the cat who liked to nap in his favorite chair in the lounge :-)

The rooms were complete with white gowns and slippers as well as roses. We also received a complementary bottle of bubbly and yummy cupcakes in the fridge.

Room 506 has a sea facing view. It's a pity that the restaurant roof just cut off a bit of the view. We had a beautiful lounge and sitting deck. Could sit for hours looking at the ocean and slept listening to the waves crashing on the rocks.

Kids loved the in house cinema complemented with popcorn. That was quite a bonus.

The pool area was also private and luxurious. Plenty private parking on the premises. Shops 5 mins away. Easy 15 min walk to the shopping mall and Woolies.

Breakfast was in the restaurant. Best savory mince and baked beans. Hands on attention by the restaurant manager. That was nice. Special compliments to Desmond who went out of his way to get me a hot croissant straight out of the oven as it was finished. Very pleasant and friendly personality.

Upon departure received a souvenir pen. Very impressed by these small little gems of detail that leave a warm feeling and memorable experience.

Will definitely be coming back for whale season around Sept to Nov. See you then Misty Waves!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaNaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.8 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
4.2 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price range (per night): R1 256 - R3 028
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing