We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #22 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

We booked in using the Winter Special in July, so it was really affordable to go to this outstanding venue. Beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Heated rooms and towel-rails! The bed was super-comfy. The house is situated right opposite the bay, so its a quick walk across the road and you're on the cliff edge. So many excellent restaurants nearby. We walked everywhere and felt very safe even at night. i can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: the floors are all tiled, so bring slippers in winter. There seems to be underfloor heating, but sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailjg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    277
    62
    26
    6
See reviews for
106
410
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

Very pleasant guest house, just to feel at home.
Lovely and well equipped rooms with a nice place to chill out.
Great location just a couple of steps from the quite city centre.
Pool could not be used in the winter period

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 500lucl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

Upon arrival I thought, wow!
Beautiful guesthouse in a perfect location - right by the marina with views of the ocean. The room was also lovely with a comfy bed. I couldn't wait to go to sleep in it.
That night unfortunately it was very noisy due to the wind blowing and shutters making a constant banging noise right outside and above my window - well that's what I think it was.
I was listening to the banging noise until about 2h30am when I had to get up and walk downstairs to look for the security guard on duty. He was very kind and wanted to help, but was told he wasn't allowed to change guest rooms.
After coming up to my room 3 times to listen to the noise and calling both my neighbours to ask them to move their balcony chairs against the shutters as it was making a noise, the noise was still present. He then had to call the guesthouse manager and eventually I managed to get a new room. All that and waking up 5 other people left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth.
Please consider securing the shutters and chairs on the balconies.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank liezeld23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springs, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Excellent location, spacious rooms. Good winter price - the fact that breakfast was not included was not a problem at all as there are so many nice places to eat within walking distance. No news channel

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 173ernstd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had a lovely weekend at the Auberge - large comfortable rooms and very friendy staff. The hotel is in a great porisiton in the centre of Hermanus, so you can walk to most restauraunts and have easy access to the cliff path, I will definately be going there again!

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank miranda_waldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.7 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
4.7 km away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.1 km away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 42 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Property: Auberge Burgundy
Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price range (per night): R1 384 - R3 005
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing