We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$264
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$264
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$271
US$190
View Deal
SAVE US$81
Booking.comUS$263
Trip.comUS$227
getaroom.comUS$271
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
648
203
72
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
648
203
72
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant origins restaurant liz mcgrath the cliff whale watching main restaurant beautiful hotel star hotel the general manager walker bay sea view hotel restaurant cape town south africa duty manager garden route see whales
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2021 via mobile

This has to be my favourite hotel ever (maybe with the Villa San Michele). Everything about it is just wonderful. The location, views, rooms, food, wine and not least the wonderful staff. I would never tire of staying and hope be be back soon.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank FrankieM431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We spent three nights at The Marine in mid December 2020. Rooms are spacious and clean and has a high attention to detail and an elegant touch albeit ever so slightly dated. The service from staff at all touch points more than makes up for any small shortcomings. Staff that stood out as service champions were Leonard the porter, the security guards and the lovely ladies and gents at reception and at mealtimes. Our stay included an excellent breakfast and nothing seemed to be too much to ask at this beautiful family friendly hotel. Excellent location within walking distance to the main Hermanus attractions and lots to do for kids with special surprise welcome gifts waiting for the little ones on arrival and a well crafted kids menu at every meal.
Room service offered a good but limited menu but slow delivery time with a 45 minute wait for a toasted sandwich. Cannot fault anything else and we cannot wait to return! Exquisite views for days and we spent many a morning and evening happily watching the dassies on the front lawn from the patio.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hellokitty1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

My wife and spent 4 nights at The Marine from 22-26 December. Melissa, Taarhir and the team run an incredible venue with service levels which are simply off the charts. Everything about The Marine oozes class and perfection. The food, the rooms, the views, the facilities are all excellent. Breakfast on the terrace is an experience not to be missed and the menu at Origins is simple yet delicious.
Take a bow team Marine!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 147lawrencet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

We had a wonderful three nights at the Marine over Christmas. It had the feeling of a family run hotel, the customer service was excellent from arrival to departure. Everyone we me, made us so welcome. It is in a wonderful position and we had a fantastic view to the sea.
The room was great with everything you could wish for.
We had a very enjoyable Christmas Eve dinner, we really enjoyed the food as well as the two meals in Origins and the breakfasts that we had.
We have previously stayed in Franschhoek for the Christmas holidays, we so enjoyed staying in Hermanus and will be back next year to the Marine and Hermanus.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 773robertf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2020 via mobile

We’ve just enjoyed a wonderful ‘socially distanced’ Christmas Eve Dinner at the Marine Hotel. The food was excellent and the service was fir-class, as was the entertainment. We were also home before curfew. A thoroughly enjoyable experience, as always.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 120gailw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews