We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
644
203
72
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
644
203
72
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant origins restaurant liz mcgrath the cliff whale watching main restaurant beautiful hotel star hotel the general manager walker bay sea view hotel restaurant cape town south africa duty manager garden route see whales
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 956 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2020

Beautiful hotel. Management is very involved to make sure every stay is special. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The conferencing was well organised and set out and we didn't have to ask for anything. Food was very good. Every detail from arrival to departure was perfect.

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissZainabS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

We had a lovely winter package weekend at the beautiful Marine Hotel, the first time we have stayed there despite numerous visits to Hermanus. The room was great, comfortable, with nice sea views, great linens, and nice personal touches from the hotel wishing me a happy bday. The restaurant (Origins) was excellent, except for the very loud room (due to Covid, they were serving dinner in the larger breakfast room), and the slightly iffy and confused service we had that night. We loved the room, the food, the spa, and the many jogs/walks along the seafront to look for whales and enjoy the flowers, rock dassies and scenery. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, breakfasts on the patio overlooking the sea a real highlight. Happily we were able to do a whale cruise (part of the package) on a later date, due to the weather/cancelation during our visit. Would love to stay here again!

Room tip: Try to get sea view room. Not many have balconies
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

Spent a long Weekend at the hotel. I can be accused of being fussy, but I have to say the standard at The Marine is first class. Food, staff and amenities just everything was great. Best place to stay in Hermanus.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

We were treated with such great care at the Marine Hotel this weekend. We welcomed in such a beautiful way with welcome drinks and moist towels. Great attention to detail is taken in the room from a personalized hand written welcome note from the GM to a personalized welcome letter and treats for the kids. The hotel is situated right on the beach and we could whale watch without leaving our room. We walked to the shops and a really interesting market nearby. The hotel has good security and the whole of Hermanus is safe. There is direct access to the beach from the hotel. The food was incredible and the spa is amazing. I love this hotel and we will definitely be back many times over.
The manger Tahier went out of his way to make our stay wonderful. The owner of the spa Serene is so professional and amazing.
This hotel is makes you forget that we living through a pandemic as they sanitize everything and make everything so beautiful and pleasant.
THANK YOU!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NafeesaV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020

Spent three nights in hotel on short break. Location is superb as close to other amenities etc. Hotel is of a high standard and the staff in all departments are excellent. In particular the food and Beverage was exceptional.....all meals were of the highest of standard and exceeded our expectations. Truly relaxing experience we will be back.

Room tip: Sea View is always best however garden view with balcony very peaceful
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews