We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
571
176
62
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
176
62
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant travel desk origins restaurant liz mcgrath pavilion restaurant the cliff complimentary mini bar whale watching main restaurant fabulous hotel star hotel the general manager sister hotel cape town sea view south africa walker bay
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The first impressions of the Marine Hotel are impressive. You sweep into the car park past a security guard and are confronted by a large white building with lawns that stretch to the cliff tops. It feels much as I imagine Bournemouth felt between the wars. Nice, genteel but slightly intimidating. In fact, nice was a words that kept springing to my mind throughout our stay. This is the sort of hotel where the guests speak in whispers and the staff tiptoe. You feel you can’t have a friendly chat with a member of staff without sounding patronising. Having said that the staff were always helpful, just a bit distant somehow.

Our room was, well nice. Spacious but not huge. A sitting area with a sofa, minibar and a TV. And a bed right in front of the window which meant you could continue to search for whales throughout the night if you wanted and were not put off by people wandering along the footpath, (admittedly they were nearly always staring out to sea) and a large bathroom with a spacious shower.

There is a pleasant lounge that faces out over the lawns and the cliffs. As always in South Africa, the food was excellent and the portions huge. We made the mistake of having a club sandwich for lunch and then at dinner we ate 3 courses which was clearly a mistake because we both felt we had eaten far to much and could barely stagger up the stairs to our room. The restaurant has an odd feel to it. It is bright and wants to be cool but can’t quite let go, rather like an hip vicar organising a rock band.

A great place to watch whales, but I would find it difficult to feel really relaxed in this hotel

Room tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Ed1304,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review, we really do appreciate your constructive feedback.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed watching the magnificent Southern Right Whales from your sea facing room.

Warm regards,
Jo Massie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We had a wonderful stay! From the moment we parked the car and entered the hotel, we felt so welcome. The staff is extremely nice. We had the lowest level room that was in the back of the building but it was still very nice. The beds were super comfortable. The room came with a free bottle of wine that was surprisingly really good for hotel wine. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant -- it was fantastic. One of our favorite meals in South Africa. It was very reasonable considering everything we had. The location of the hotel is perfect and we enjoyed walking around the town.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Skigal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Skigal08,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, especially your dining experience in Origins Restaurant.

It is also very good to know that you enjoyed our beautiful location overlooking Walker Bay.

Warm regards,
Jo Massie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The Marine Hotel is the perfect vantage point from where to view whales. From the hotel you can walk on a beautiful coastal path towards the harbour. If you are not staying at the hotel, it will be worth just having a drink in the stylish lounge or going for breakfast.

Room tip: Choose a sea facing room with a balcony
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank The_Mystery_Guest_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear The_Mystery_Guest_SA,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our luxurious rooms. We hope you managed to spot some Whales whist in Hermanus.

We look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

First time here but won't be the last truly a fantastic hotel room we are in is on the ground floor and is perfect for my disability needs and the with all facilities close by great food can be had in the hotel restaurant the only problem is choices are a little wanting it would be so much better it there was more on the menu but this is only a small inconvenience as what they do have on the menu is really cooked well with fantastic service. The out looks are to die for with whales around and in view from basically just out side the door ( but they are not playing at present as we are still hoping to see one) that aside Wonderful Hotel highly recommend a stay here. It deserves the 5 star rating.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bobbishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Bobbishton,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Marine Hotel.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pity to read of the whales not playing whilst you were with us, as they are very energetic & playful this morning.

I am glad that you enjoyed your dining experience in Origins. On the 1st of October we will start with our new Spring/Summer Menu that will offer a large variety of dishes.

We look forward in welcoming you both back to the Marine Hotel.

Warm regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Marine . The hotel is situated on the cliff edge and we were able to see whale from the lawn . Beautiful cliff walks to amazing bays . Decor was excellent as was the attention to our needs by the staff . The food was amazing . Best meal in South Africa

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Copson96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Copson96,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback of your recent stay at the Marine.

It is very good to hear that you so enjoyed our very special location and thoroughly enjoyed our food in Origins Restaurant.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Jo Massie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews