We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a great setting. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful rooms and bathroom with a complimentary minibar. Got to do some whale watching from the restaurant while haveing a delicious breakfast. Will defirgo stay there again if I go back to hermanus

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Wendy H,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review.

We are delighted to hear you so enjoyed your recent stay with us and every aspect of our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Hermanus.

Warm regards,
Jo Massie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first impressions of the Marine Hotel are impressive. You sweep into the car park past a security guard and are confronted by a large white building with lawns that stretch to the cliff tops. It feels much as I imagine Bournemouth felt between the wars. Nice, genteel but slightly intimidating. In fact, nice was a words that kept springing to my mind throughout our stay. This is the sort of hotel where the guests speak in whispers and the staff tiptoe. You feel you can’t have a friendly chat with a member of staff without sounding patronising. Having said that the staff were always helpful, just a bit distant somehow.

Our room was, well nice. Spacious but not huge. A sitting area with a sofa, minibar and a TV. And a bed right in front of the window which meant you could continue to search for whales throughout the night if you wanted and were not put off by people wandering along the footpath, (admittedly they were nearly always staring out to sea) and a large bathroom with a spacious shower.

There is a pleasant lounge that faces out over the lawns and the cliffs. As always in South Africa, the food was excellent and the portions huge. We made the mistake of having a club sandwich for lunch and then at dinner we ate 3 courses which was clearly a mistake because we both felt we had eaten far to much and could barely stagger up the stairs to our room. The restaurant has an odd feel to it. It is bright and wants to be cool but can’t quite let go, rather like an hip vicar organising a rock band.

A great place to watch whales, but I would find it difficult to feel really relaxed in this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ed1304,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review, we really do appreciate your constructive feedback.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed watching the magnificent Southern Right Whales from your sea facing room.

Warm regards,
Jo Massie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay! From the moment we parked the car and entered the hotel, we felt so welcome. The staff is extremely nice. We had the lowest level room that was in the back of the building but it was still very nice. The beds were super comfortable. The room came with a free bottle of wine that was surprisingly really good for hotel wine. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant -- it was fantastic. One of our favorite meals in South Africa. It was very reasonable considering everything we had. The location of the hotel is perfect and we enjoyed walking around the town.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Skigal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Skigal08,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, especially your dining experience in Origins Restaurant.

It is also very good to know that you enjoyed our beautiful location overlooking Walker Bay.

Warm regards,
Jo Massie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The Marine Hotel is the perfect vantage point from where to view whales. From the hotel you can walk on a beautiful coastal path towards the harbour. If you are not staying at the hotel, it will be worth just having a drink in the stylish lounge or going for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank The_Mystery_Guest_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear The_Mystery_Guest_SA,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our luxurious rooms. We hope you managed to spot some Whales whist in Hermanus.

We look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

First time here but won't be the last truly a fantastic hotel room we are in is on the ground floor and is perfect for my disability needs and the with all facilities close by great food can be had in the hotel restaurant the only problem is choices are a little wanting it would be so much better it there was more on the menu but this is only a small inconvenience as what they do have on the menu is really cooked well with fantastic service. The out looks are to die for with whales around and in view from basically just out side the door ( but they are not playing at present as we are still hoping to see one) that aside Wonderful Hotel highly recommend a stay here. It deserves the 5 star rating.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobbishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Bobbishton,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Marine Hotel.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pity to read of the whales not playing whilst you were with us, as they are very energetic & playful this morning.

I am glad that you enjoyed your dining experience in Origins. On the 1st of October we will start with our new Spring/Summer Menu that will offer a large variety of dishes.

We look forward in welcoming you both back to the Marine Hotel.

Warm regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
0.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
417 reviews
1.0 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: R3 680 - R8 130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing