We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marine Hermanus
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
531
162
61
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
162
61
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restauranttravel deskorigins restaurantpavilion restaurantliz mcgraththe cliffcomplimentary mini barmain restaurantwhale watchingfabulous hotelsister hotelstar hotelsea viewcape townsouth africawalker baythe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The Marine was everything I hoped it would be and more! I have had this hotel on my bucket list for a few years. After a difficult start to the year, my husband and I finally had the opportunity to visit and stay for a few nights. What a treat!

The hotel is a grand old dame that has lost none of her olde worlde charm with all the mod cons you can think of. Our room was magnificent with a spectacular view over Walker Bay. We were treated to whales breaching on some mornings, which we could watch from the comfort our bed.

Breakfasts were scrumptious with a view to match and dinners at Origins were sinfully delicious! The staff were extremely friendly and obliging, no request was too much or too difficult. We had a whale of a time and will definitely return to this beautiful piece of paradise.

Thank you to the managers and staff who made our stay so amazing!

Room Tip: Best views of Walker Bay were higher up from the top floor.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Michelle S,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are so pleased to hear that you have ticked us off on your bucket list and enjoyed your stay at the Marine, especially that you were able to spot some whales breaching from your magnificent room.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Jo Massie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

My wife & I checked into the spa for the day & decided to spend the night . Firstly we were pampered at the spa leaving after several hours of being spoiled with heavenly pleasures .We checked into our room & I informed Heidi that I am a vegan & she said not to worry The room was luxurious & had all the comfort one can ask for . We went for a long walk along the cliff path & enjoyed breathtaking views of Walker bay . Time for dinner when I was seated by Sam I got handed my own menu .Yes Vegan menu this bowled me over .Accommodating a clients needs is one thing but this service on an entirely different level . I was so impressed & when the food arrived I was even more impressed delicious , original ,creative & perfectly prepared. Thank you Sam & Heidi you are both shining stars & you do your hotel proud!! The Marine's number One on my treat list

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast YUMMY !!!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Shane S,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that yourself and your wife enjoyed your time with us at the Marine Hotel.

We do try our utmost to accommodate our guests with dietary requirements and it is great to read that you enjoyed our very own Origins Vegan Menu.

We do look forward in welcoming you both back to one of your favourite places.

Warmest regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We spent two nights here and loved this hotel. It is in great location on the cliff very close to the town centre, restaurants and shops.
The building is a lovely old historic hotel - our room was very spacious and comfortable. Best storage space for clothes so far on this trip. Large bathroom with separate bath and shower. Coffee and tea making facilities and mini bar. Good wifi and comfortable bed. Blankets in the closet if you did not want the duvet or donna.
Breakfast was a la carte one morning and a buffet the next. Nice range of food and good expresso coffee.
Staff and very friendly - helped us with directions and maps for the coastal walk. Only negative - no gym in the hotel but a long walk is a good alternative.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Go55,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We truly are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us as well as the Hermanus. I do hope you managed to spot a whale or two.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Marine Hotel.

Warm regards,
Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The Marine is one of those grand ole dames [South African-style]. I must have stayed here 3 or 4 times over the years, and still love it. I am here on business - seems like everyone else is here on holiday. I was given a room away from all the hustle and bustle of the hotel, as requested - room 202. The room is large and comfortable - just the way I like it. Within a day, everyone I interacted with knew my name. If I requested something - my minibar emptied or an additional heater, it was done immediately and with a smile. Did I say I love coming here?

Stayed: July 2017
Thank LlewellynPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear LlewellynPatrick,

Thank you for wonderful review, we are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us even though in Hermanus on business.

I am glad that we met your expectations for room requirements.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Marine Hotel.

Warm regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

What an amazing hotel. We were given the executive suite 212 and it was just sublime. Huge bed, lounge and monster bathroom.
The staff are accommodating beyond the call of duty, friendly and you just feel at home away from home.
We walked to Grotto bay from the hotel which is an hour there and an hour back but worth it. Phenomenal views and houses along the way.
The dinning experience was fantastic and breakfast a real treat.
There is plenty to do and see in Hermanus and an awesome holiday all round. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cameron1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Cameron1974,

We are thrilled to hear that you found the Marine to be an amazing hotel and that Room 212 and that dinner & breakfast exceeded your expectations. I am glad you took time to walk along the cliff path, really is such a lovely walk. Hermanus as a town certainly has a vast amount of activities on offer.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Marine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews