We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
556
173
62
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
173
62
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant origins restaurant travel desk pavilion restaurant liz mcgrath the cliff complimentary mini bar main restaurant whale watching beautiful hotel star hotel sister hotel sea view the general manager south africa walker bay cape town
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

This was an unforgettable experience. The staff are so well trained and it seemed that they anticipate your needs even before you yourself realise it. The food was excellent made even better by the view. The room was very comfortable and luxurious. This is a must when in Hermanus.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hestie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Hestie C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review on the Marine Hotel. It is lovely to hear that we were able to anticipate all your needs and that you enjoyed the views from the hotel and also our cuisine in Origins Restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Annemie Parker and the Marine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Wonderful staff, great food and service and luxury rooms made our weekend. The cliffside walks and the little town of Hermanus were enough to keep us happily occupied. The Hermanus wine route is a must. Unfortunately it was not the right time for whale watching so We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are spectacular
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrankshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear jcrankshaw1,

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away with us. Hermanus is a great little town and we are blessed with a great location. The walks in the area is truly amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marine.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Marine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

True 5 star everything included from the mini bar including a complimentary bottle of wine we found staff attentive and friendly.
We did not use the restaurant's apart from breakfast which was of a high standard and stunning view.
WiFi coverage is good as they have numerous locations.
To early for the Wales but the coast line is stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnH8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear John H,

Thank you for posting this lovely review of the Marine Hotel. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are blessed with wonderful views so even if the whales are not around yet it is still breath-taking, although we have started spotting a few whales already.

We hope to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Marine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We booked a room at the Marine Hermanus about three months ahead of our visit and asked for a sea view. Shortly before our arrival they advised that a sea view room was not available. The garden view room was very nice but the closet doors and the bathroom door did not close properly. The warm and cold water indicators on the basin taps were the wrong way round and there were no pods for the coffee machine when we arrived. When we returned from an excursion the next day, the pods had been supplied but some dirty glasses had not been removed. The hotel's Origins restaurant did not deliver at all. Our lamb and seafood curries were not satisfactory. The lamb pieces were chewy and the seafood curry more like soup (not even chowder!).
We did not have a bad stay but were underwhelmed by the experience, especially because it was the most expensive of our week-long trip to the western cape.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are preferable
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snymans2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Mr Snyman,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

It is disappointing to read of your experiences at the Hotel, your comments are valid and not acceptable for a 5 star property.

I have looked into your above mentioned points that was communicated with me on departure from the Hotel and these have been actioned accordingly. Your valued feedback has been taken into consideration.

We do look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Our room had the most ridiculously small shower room. There was no wifi in the room - or, indeed anywhere near the room (despite boasts that there was). In the restaurant, a waitress knocked over a glass of red wine into my lap - NO apology (no replacement wine!). At Reception, my husband asked that my outfit be dry cleaned - it was, BUT they added the flipping charge to our bill!

In my opinion, this place is over rated and is cashing in on the location.

To be fair, though, breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: Be very specific!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kharrison85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Kharrison85,

Thank you taking the time to provide us feedback of your stay in January.

We do apologize that you felt the bathroom was not up to your standard. We were experiencing issues with our Wi-Fi intermittently during January, we are currently in the process of upgrading our internet to fibre to ensure that our guests receive strong & fast Wi-Fi connectivity throughout the Hotel.

I am terribly disappointed to read that no apology was given regarding the red wine being spilled as well as our waitress not offering you another glass of wine, I can assure you that this is not the level of service that we offer.

The dry cleaning of your red wine stained clothing should not have been charged to your room and for this i do sincerely apologize.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast spread.

I have noticed that you are returning in January 2018 and I look forward in personally meeting with you.

Warm regards,
Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews