We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
546
171
62
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
171
62
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restaurantorigins restauranttravel deskpavilion restaurantliz mcgraththe cliffcomplimentary mini barmain restaurantwhale watchingbeautiful hotelstar hotelsister hotelsea viewthe general managersouth africawalker baycape town
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017

we had the opportunity to stay one night at the hotel. it was everything which one expects from a 5 star hotel. we loved the pool (although it was freezing) and the spa. the breakfast was one of the best which we had for a long time. great service, great view - simple the 5 star package!!

Room Tip: we had a room on the first floor with a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Dear Michael F,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I am delighted to read that you had a good stay with us at the Marine.

You are very brave to have braced the swimming pool, I am happy that you managed to fit some R&R in whilst in Hermanus. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular views that we are so lucky to have as well as the superb service.

We do hope that you will return to Hermanus an hopefully stay with us for a longer period of time.

Warm regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

A great hotel, in almost all respects. The fact that I found the bed a bit hard is down to personal preference. Best of all, you can sleep here without aircon which I love - fresh sea air galore. Tip: book on Booking.com because you'll get a better deal. Had a very nice dinner in the restaurant, too.

Room Tip: Our room faced the mountain and it was large with full bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank working-suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Working-Suitcase,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review on trip advisor. It certainly is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal at Origins with us at the Marine. Apologies about the bed being a bit hard, will certainly look into that.

It really is lovely to be able to hear the waves crashing and smell the sea air.

We hope to welcome you back some day.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The Marine Hotel is elegant and beautifully decorated with lovely rooms in a relaxing and comfortable style. We had a warm welcome by all the staff we encountered they were all very friendly and efficient. The meal we had was excellent and served at a great pace, not rushed bout perfect. A real treasure on the coastline Id highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room some look over a courtyard, but you will pay more as ever for a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranniesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear ranniesgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us at the Marine Hotel. Lovely to hear that the staff looked after you well and that you enjoyed your meal with us in Origins Restaurant.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We visited the Marine restaurant at lunchtime on Saturday 22 April. We 'discovered' the restaurant by chance and because of its location overlooking the ocean we decided to lunch there. The fish dish had the most delicate flavour and the stir fried vegetables were a nice touch. My daughter enjoyed her vegetarian burger very much. We only had time for mains but are planning to come back soon to taste other dishes. We will of course try the hotel next time we are in Hermanus!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank snowwhite177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear snowwhite177,

Wonderful to hear that you "discovered" our Origins restaurant and that you enjoyed our fish dish and the Vegetarian burger.

We look forward to welcoming you back to try more of our dishes on the menu.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Origins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We were in South Africa for two weeks and stayed in some very nice hotels but this was the best by a significant margin.

We arrived early, around noon, intending only to park before walking along the Hermanus cliff walk but the staff got our room ready early - which was a nice touch.

The location is amazing and you can step onto the cliff path from the hotel garden. The views from the hotel and garden are gorgeous and the level of service was top notch.

Our "suite" of rooms (number 107) was very big and included a dressing area between bedroom and ensuite. Looking at the floor plan ours was one of the smaller rooms on the ground floor - do the others have snooker tables or something ? We had sea "glimpses" from our quiet and beautifully decorated room.

We sampled the bar - good service and decent prices and the view really was excellent.

Overall the hotel is in great order and retains its early 20th century sense of opulence and style.

Breakfast was good and cooked to order, though the pork sausage could maybe be a little tastier but I'm really splitting hairs.

The fire alarm went off a couple of times in the middle of the night but it stopped quickly enough for us not to have to evacuate the room - as long as that's exceptional then it's nothing that other travellers have to worry about.

The final bonus was a complimentary mini-bar. We took a couple of cans of coke on our cliff walk.

We really want to come back and would live there is we could afford it...

Room Tip: First floor (second floor for Americans) may have better views
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank The_Don_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear The_Don_UK,

We so appreciate that you took the time to give us such wonderful and detailed feedback on your stay with us at the Marine. Thank you so much.

We truly are situated in a beautiful location with amazing views and wonderful walks so glad that you made use of this. Great that you made use of our complimentary minibar, we feel that this is a lovely added extra for our guests.

At the Marine we take the safety of our guests very serious and when our fire alarms sound we first check to ensure that all is in order before we silence. This can happen on occasion, but is certainly not something that occur all the time.

I have also given your feedback regarding our pork sausages to our Executive Chef and he will definitely look into this.

We would be happy for you to live hear, so please let us know and we will make the arrangements.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Marine Team









Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews