We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Stayed for 2 nights after staying at sister hotel in Plettenburg Bay. Beautiful hotel right on the cliffs. 5 minute walk to restaurants and bars and great cliff path walk right outside the hotel. Lovely swimming pool area in a central courtyard - very quiet and a sun trap. Great bar/lounge area looking out to sea. Restaurant very good serving tapas type small plates. Breakfast great - large choice and good service. We had a sea view room with huge bathroom. The room was very nice but some issues with privacy as the window next to the bed overlooks the coast path. Would visit again.

Room Tip: sea view rooms every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leatons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Leatons,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback of your stay at the Marine Hotel.

We do indeed have a beautiful location in Hermanus offering spectacular ocean views as well as a wonderful spread for breakfast and a unique menu in our Origins Restaurant.

I am delighted to read that you will return, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

we had the opportunity to stay one night at the hotel. it was everything which one expects from a 5 star hotel. we loved the pool (although it was freezing) and the spa. the breakfast was one of the best which we had for a long time. great service, great view - simple the 5 star package!!

Room Tip: we had a room on the first floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Dear Michael F,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

I am delighted to read that you had a good stay with us at the Marine.

You are very brave to have braced the swimming pool, I am happy that you managed to fit some R&R in whilst in Hermanus. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular views that we are so lucky to have as well as the superb service.

We do hope that you will return to Hermanus an hopefully stay with us for a longer period of time.

Warm regards,

Melissa Burns
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

A great hotel, in almost all respects. The fact that I found the bed a bit hard is down to personal preference. Best of all, you can sleep here without aircon which I love - fresh sea air galore. Tip: book on Booking.com because you'll get a better deal. Had a very nice dinner in the restaurant, too.

Room Tip: Our room faced the mountain and it was large with full bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank working-suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Working-Suitcase,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review on trip advisor. It certainly is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal at Origins with us at the Marine. Apologies about the bed being a bit hard, will certainly look into that.

It really is lovely to be able to hear the waves crashing and smell the sea air.

We hope to welcome you back some day.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The Marine Hotel is elegant and beautifully decorated with lovely rooms in a relaxing and comfortable style. We had a warm welcome by all the staff we encountered they were all very friendly and efficient. The meal we had was excellent and served at a great pace, not rushed bout perfect. A real treasure on the coastline Id highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room some look over a courtyard, but you will pay more as ever for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranniesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear ranniesgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us at the Marine Hotel. Lovely to hear that the staff looked after you well and that you enjoyed your meal with us in Origins Restaurant.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We visited the Marine restaurant at lunchtime on Saturday 22 April. We 'discovered' the restaurant by chance and because of its location overlooking the ocean we decided to lunch there. The fish dish had the most delicate flavour and the stir fried vegetables were a nice touch. My daughter enjoyed her vegetarian burger very much. We only had time for mains but are planning to come back soon to taste other dishes. We will of course try the hotel next time we are in Hermanus!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank snowwhite177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear snowwhite177,

Wonderful to hear that you "discovered" our Origins restaurant and that you enjoyed our fish dish and the Vegetarian burger.

We look forward to welcoming you back to try more of our dishes on the menu.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Origins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
968 reviews
0.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.4 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
427 reviews
0.6 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: R3 707 - R8 369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing