We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Whale Coast Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermanus Beach Villa(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

On the Cliff Guest House(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
537
167
61
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
167
61
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restauranttravel deskorigins restaurantpavilion restaurantliz mcgraththe cliffcomplimentary mini barmain restaurantwhale watchingfabulous hotelsister hotelstar hotelsea viewcape townsouth africawalker baythe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We visited the Marine restaurant at lunchtime on Saturday 22 April. We 'discovered' the restaurant by chance and because of its location overlooking the ocean we decided to lunch there. The fish dish had the most delicate flavour and the stir fried vegetables were a nice touch. My daughter enjoyed her vegetarian burger very much. We only had time for mains but are planning to come back soon to taste other dishes. We will of course try the hotel next time we are in Hermanus!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank snowwhite177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear snowwhite177,

Wonderful to hear that you "discovered" our Origins restaurant and that you enjoyed our fish dish and the Vegetarian burger.

We look forward to welcoming you back to try more of our dishes on the menu.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Origins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We were in South Africa for two weeks and stayed in some very nice hotels but this was the best by a significant margin.

We arrived early, around noon, intending only to park before walking along the Hermanus cliff walk but the staff got our room ready early - which was a nice touch.

The location is amazing and you can step onto the cliff path from the hotel garden. The views from the hotel and garden are gorgeous and the level of service was top notch.

Our "suite" of rooms (number 107) was very big and included a dressing area between bedroom and ensuite. Looking at the floor plan ours was one of the smaller rooms on the ground floor - do the others have snooker tables or something ? We had sea "glimpses" from our quiet and beautifully decorated room.

We sampled the bar - good service and decent prices and the view really was excellent.

Overall the hotel is in great order and retains its early 20th century sense of opulence and style.

Breakfast was good and cooked to order, though the pork sausage could maybe be a little tastier but I'm really splitting hairs.

The fire alarm went off a couple of times in the middle of the night but it stopped quickly enough for us not to have to evacuate the room - as long as that's exceptional then it's nothing that other travellers have to worry about.

The final bonus was a complimentary mini-bar. We took a couple of cans of coke on our cliff walk.

We really want to come back and would live there is we could afford it...

Room Tip: First floor (second floor for Americans) may have better views
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank The_Don_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear The_Don_UK,

We so appreciate that you took the time to give us such wonderful and detailed feedback on your stay with us at the Marine. Thank you so much.

We truly are situated in a beautiful location with amazing views and wonderful walks so glad that you made use of this. Great that you made use of our complimentary minibar, we feel that this is a lovely added extra for our guests.

At the Marine we take the safety of our guests very serious and when our fire alarms sound we first check to ensure that all is in order before we silence. This can happen on occasion, but is certainly not something that occur all the time.

I have also given your feedback regarding our pork sausages to our Executive Chef and he will definitely look into this.

We would be happy for you to live hear, so please let us know and we will make the arrangements.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Marine Team









Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic setting and our room had the most beautiful view of sea & mountains. Bed was huge & so cozy! Food and service at the Origins Restaurant was top quality & the pool area plus beauty salon for massages was great! Would really love to come back!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lily15243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear Lily15243,

I am so happy to hear that you had a Luxurious stay with us at the Marine. Thank you for the great feedback on Origins Restaurant regarding food & service. We are very lucky with the the view and location of the hotel.

Would be lovely to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Marine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

For us the Marine is great.The location is unbeatable and the views are stunning.The rooms are very spacious(more suites than rooms) and the place has a nice seaside charm while being modern enough at the same time.The staff throughout the hotel are VERY friendly and immediately knew our names, remembered our preferences etc,good attention to detail. The only downside was that breakfast choice was limited so we went out instead.We will certainly come back! Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TachlessCps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear Guest,

It was lovely welcoming you back for a second stay with us, and really wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay even more this time. Thank you for making special mention of the staff at the Marine, we really are blessed with wonderful staff. I also appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast, will certainly look into this.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We were expecting to be impresses and we certainly were. The setting at the top of the cliff is spectacular and the walk along the top is fun. The hotel breakfast was plentiful and very good. Our large room was furnished very nicely and the mini bar was complimentary for us. A bottle of wine from the Creation vineyards welcomed us. The location is convenient to shops and restaurants. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank europeanfan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you have an enjoyable stay with us at the Marine. We certainly are located perfectly with just about everything situated within close proximity of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back some day!

Kind Regards,

Annemie and the Marine Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews