We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing hospitality in Hermanus”
Review of Fernkloof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernkloof Lodge
Ranked #42 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Hermanus was one of the highlights of my SA trip. Not just because of the beauty it offers but also because of the warm hospitality by Gail & Izak. The lodge is one of the most beautiful places that you would ever stay in. It is so aesthetically done that just mesmerizes you. I had a Luxury suite booked on the first floor and it was filled with antiques collected since long. Everything has such detailed and good taste that you wonder how much effort the hosts have put into it. You will find the room full of books on the African culture, wildlife and African stories. The room had a big patio overlooking the golf course and the mountains. Its a 5 mins drive from the main town and the beautiful Hermanus ocean walk. Its completely a Thumbs up from me and definitely this B&B lodge can easily put a lot of so-called-five-star hotels to shame. Its really heartening to see how Gail & Izak toil hard to keep this place as beautiful everyday. Thank you Mrs. & Mr. Kenney, you were one of the most beautiful people that we met on our trip to SA.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury suite, its worth it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Varun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for your kind words, Varun. It was a pleasure having you to stay, just too short! I hope Kruger was as beautiful & amazing as you wanted :-) We wish you a wonderful 2016 with many happy memories together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2015

This is a beautiful and well presented guest house overlooking the golf course.

Fernkloof Nature Reserve is nearby.

The upstairs large African suite has a distant view also of the sea, with a large balcony at eye level with the sunbirds and other birds visiting their flowering trees. This suite also has a large sitting room with old colonial memorabilia and a wealth of interesting books about Africa and the past.

There was flatscreen TV, fridge with cold water and beer, courtesy tea and coffee tray. There was no a/c but there is a pedestal fan and when we were there at least, it was cool enough with the window and balcony doors open.

The house has a delightful garden overlooking the small swimming pool and delicious breakfasts are taken on the patio in appropriate weather.

There is parking on the drive.

Gail and Isak Kenny are excellent and thoughtful hosts and will offer suggestions as to activities, restaurant reservations, etc.

We were near the end of the whale watching season but did see a few from the excellent coastal path and which has several accessible places of "entry".

Room Tip: The upstairs African suite is spacious with own sitting room and two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review.It was a pleasure having you to stay and I'm so pleased you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa. Thank you for the lovely photo of Lemoenfontein which brought back happy memories.
Wishing you a wonderful 2016 :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

I´ve stayed here a number of times during periods of work in Western Cape province.
It is always a pleasure to come "home" to Fernkloof 43, and the owners, Gail and Izak Kenney has become my South African "parents".
3 Beautiful appartments where you always feels welcome, wonderful surroundings with the golfcourse and the mountain just around the corner.
I love it!

Room Tip: The two room "African Suite" with the big roof terras is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gail k, Owner at Fernkloof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thanks so much Ulf -- our favourite long staying guest!! We'd so love to see you if you come to SA again.Only a "Mom" would make breakfast for you at 6.30am every day!!
All the best for a wonderful 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

All was excelent! The room, the stay, Gail & Izaak... they made us feel at home, and helped us a lot during our stay in Hermanus. In Fernkloof all details are nice (furniture, beds, baths), and if you need something, you will have it in a while...Lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inzizte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

We had a great stay here thanks to Gail and Izaks hospitatility.
We stayed here for 3 nights in March,myself,hubby,brother and his wife,who previously had stayed here 7yrs ago.I think Gail even remembered them,lol.
We were in the African themed room and it was gorgeous,so welcoming and with everything that you needed.
Gail and Izak are such a lovely couple and very informative about Hermanus area and lots of tips on where to eat.
If we are ever back in this lovely area of South Africa we would defiantly,defiantly stay here.
Home from home.
P.s. Love your breakfasts Gail

Room Tip: Every room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hippychickchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.3 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.3 km away
Anha Casa Guest House
Anha Casa Guest House
#25 of 86 in Hermanus
104 reviews
1.2 km away
Brown Jug Guest House
Brown Jug Guest House
#24 of 86 in Hermanus
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Whale Coast Villa
Whale Coast Villa
#50 of 86 in Hermanus
23 reviews
2.7 km away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#20 of 86 in Hermanus
152 reviews
0.7 km away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#16 of 86 in Hermanus
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernkloof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernkloof Lodge

Address: 43 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: R781 - R1 478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernkloof Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, beauty & warm hospitality await you at Fernkloof Lodge, nestled below the majestic mountains overlooking a world class golf course & a sweeping view towards the sea. Fernkloof lodge is an artistically & uniquely decorated home. Each suite is beautifully appointed with an eclectic combination of old & new touches & original works of art. Breakfasts served on the sun-drenched patio. As the sun sets, cool down in the sparkling pool or sip a sundowner at your leisure! The tranquility of Fernkloof Lodge is just a doorstep away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fernkloof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing