We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
44
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south africa attention to detail gail hosts suite
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We were looking for a perfect start to our South Africa vacation and found this beautiful Fernkloof Lodge in Hermanus’ heights. We stayed in the African Colonial Suite – it was simply perfect: the cosy rooms (bedroom with an en-suite little bathroom and an extra lounge room), the fresh breakfast in the garden, the lovely hosts Gail and Izak, the location itself and all the good tips from Gail for restaurants, activities and behaving in South Africa. Gail was so kind to help us with organizing booking restaurants, activities etc. Thanks again! The rooms are very stylish decorated, the bed and the shower were very good, the area is safe and quiet at night. You will need a car to drive to the restaurants for dinner. We highly recommended this accommodation with a great price-effort-balance - and very helpful and kind hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014 via mobile

A really nice place to stay. It is clean, nice and with all things necessary. We stayed there for a night but really enjoyed the place. Moreover it is located in a place that feel totally safe. The proprietary is also really nice and full of advice on restaurant or location to go.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Benoit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the Berg and Beach trail race and absolutely loved it. The place was conveniently 3 mins drive from the race venue.
The room was spacious, very clean and tidy and loved the fact that they had Charlotte Rhys products in the bathroom.
A real gem and the owner is really welcoming and charming.
Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

We've stayed twice at this guesthouse/BB and it is my first choice when looking for accommodation for a weekend away in Hermanus. Hosts Gail and Izak offer amazing hospitality and make you feel part of their home. We stayed in the one bedroom which is upstairs with a lovely balcony and a lounge with a sleeper couch perfect for kids. Their ample breakfast held in their gorgeous garden, weather permitting, is always delicious. We'll be back :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DizzyC0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We loved our stay at Fernkloof Lodge. We stayed at the Lodge on August 28, 2013, booked the two bedroom suite which was spacious and beautifully decorated with cute little personal touches. Gail and Izak were wonderful hosts, they greeted us warmly and gave us a quick run down of the town. The suite had a large tv and loads of movies to watch. We got rained in while in Hermanus so the TV and movies were a welcoming surprise. It was by far one of the most affordable Lodges we had a chance to stay in while in South Africa. We truly felt at home. Thank you Gail and Izak for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandIRoadShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews