We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb seafood in a cosy setting”

Fisherman's Cottage
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Fishermans Cottage is a small and intimate restaurant set in the Old Harbour Village of Hermanus. Owners Anton,Nicole (& Sascha) and their small team, welcome their guests to experience fresh Fish and Seafood served with energy and love.A few delicious Meat and Vegetarian options are also available with a local Wine List reflecting the beautiful wines of our region. Open: Monday to Thursday- Dinner Only (17:00-21:00) Friday and Saturday Lunch and Dinner (12:00-21:00) Sunday - Lunch Only (12:00-14:30)
Cape Town
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb seafood in a cosy setting”
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Skip the chains and the overhyped spots with sea views. Fisherhman's Cottage has superb seafood in a cosy atmosphere. Great for lunch or a fairy light enhanced evening dinner.

Best calamari I've ever had, but plenty good on the menu aside from that.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank 11Skarab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    256
    66
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We stay in Hermanus every year on our touting holiday of SA and always visit The Fisherman's Cottage. Our meal this year was superb with the freshest fish we have ever had and beautifully cooked.
The service was good and it's a restaurant we would highly recommend.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We were at the restaurant in The beginning of April and had a great experience. The staff and our waiter was very knowledge about the food and gave us an cultural experience of what the South African ocean has to offer. We had a delicious fish and the famous malva pudding for desert. Both tasted amazing. If we are coming to hermanus we will definitely visit the place again.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful, never a bad meal”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We have visited Hermanus for the past 3 years and always eaten here. We went for dinner there a few nights ago and again were not disappointed, a fantastic menu with freshly caught fish and varied and tasty choices and a great kids selection. Our group had the line fish, the lamb curry, the steak and the fish pie, all were superb.

It is a little building that doesn't look like much and you could be mistaken to visit one of the bigger more commercial restaurants, this would be a bad decision. There is a reason it is always busy and you should book ahead! Highly recommended.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank kay_kay_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seafood in a quaint building”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

A lovely cosy restaurant with a good menu and daily specials. Seafood was fresh, and the portion sizes good. Had the seafood curry which was lovely and a special of Durban Calamari which was totally different and full of flavour. Also love the fact it is BYO. Would recommend.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank cdbridge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Cottage also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing