We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Fisherman's Cottage
Ranked #4 of 111 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Fishermans Cottage is a small and intimate restaurant set in the Old Harbour Village of Hermanus. Owners Anton,Nicole (& Sascha) and their small team, welcome their guests to experience fresh Fish and Seafood served with energy and love.A few delicious Meat and Vegetarian options are also available with a local Wine List reflecting the beautiful wines of our region. Open: Monday and Tuesdays- Dinner Only (18:00-21:00) Wednesday - Saturday Lunch (12:00-15:00)and Dinner (18:00-21:00) Sunday - Lunch Only (12:00-15:00)
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We visit Hermanus every year on our 6 week trip in South Africa and always have at least one evening meal at Fishermans Cottage. The food is excellent and the service is also excellent - Anthony always makes us feel so welcome. We had the best kingklip ever this time - fresh and cooked to perfection. We shall be back next February.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    253
    64
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The sea food platter is to die for, the calamari tender (which isn't always the case elsewhere) and the front of house staff above average. We wished we had found the place earlier, but it is tucked away behind other restaurants and probably gets missed, which is a shame. Other restuarants on the front get the immediate attention, when people should look a little further back and will find a little gem. Maybe the owners need to put their minds to drawing people in from the front somehow. We would recommend it to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A great evening”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We dined here on our first night in Hermanus. We shared a delicious salad Nicoise as a starter & Mel had hake & I dined on delicious cabailou. The latter was much preferred.

We brought our own bottle of superb Thelema Merlot (no corkage) & finished by sharing a yummy malva pudding.

Service throughout was swift & friendly, a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish soup I've ever had!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This place has ruined fish soup for me forever as I don't think anything I've ever had in France could live up to this! For main we had the biggest platter of seafood too, but finished everything as it was so good. Great relaxed vibe, excellent suggestions on wine and really friendly service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We had the seafood soup to start which was delicious and almost like a main course. The kingklip main was perfect. The service and wine were very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank richardmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Cottage also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing