We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit”

Char'd Grill & Wine Bar
Ranked #7 of 140 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Description: A bespoke establishment with elements of industrial and steampunk design that incorporates vintage features with anachronistic modern technology. The interior creates a sassy and sophisticated fantasy world. At Char'd the emphasis is on unusual and innovative cuts of meat as well as the old time classics.Char'd team creates simple, yet innovative, elegant and flavourful food.
Restaurant details
Description: A bespoke establishment with elements of industrial and steampunk design that incorporates vintage features with anachronistic modern technology. The interior creates a sassy and sophisticated fantasy world. At Char'd the emphasis is on unusual and innovative cuts of meat as well as the old time classics.Char'd team creates simple, yet innovative, elegant and flavourful food.
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Awesome meal from start to finish. Leave room for dessert, it will be worth it. Will come back again.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank StephanieV2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We had the most unexpected and amazing experience last night at Char’d in Hermanus. We were looked after by a professional and friendly young lady named Lindsey who gave us a brilliant explanation of the various gins they serve as well as the various cuts of meat. She continued to serve us for the evening and was one of the best waitrons I have had in years. We had the calamari and Short Rib wontons for starters, both unbelievable. For mains the Bevette cut steak was mind blowing. It was such a amazing experience. We will definately be back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

We went to another “posh” restaurant - didn’t tell us their alcohol license were revoked - left straight away - nonsense!

Found this delight - packed - had to wait - worth every second
Thrilling wine list - meat paradise - all sorts of steaks explained
Mouth watering steak - Chimichurri prawn equally tasty
Asked the dead cow to join me in heaven!!
Quaint decor - fab staff - good food
Can’t go wrong - delighted the posh one was a flop
Joy!!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank 168arunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I don’t need to say anything else, we are a couple of foodies who have travelled the world eating out and this was the best steak we have both ever had, go try it!

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank 137HelenC137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is the second time during April that I've visited the restaurant. The first time was with friends and this time I was there with family. I like the decor - something 'different'. The service was both times excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious - everybody was very pleased with what they have ordered.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank abcdeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Char'd Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

Hermanus, Overstrand
Hermanus, Overstrand
 
Hermanus, Overstrand
Hermanus, Overstrand
 

Been to Char'd Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing