We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient resort restaurant”
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #10 of 115 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Cantina provides the perfect setting for relaxed family dining. With its traditional Italian menu, La Cantina treats guests to an authentic Mediterranean culinary experience ranging from homemade pastas to succulent steaks. The warm, inviting atmosphere is not limited to the evening meal - La Cantina serves a buffet breakfast daily and a Sunday buffet lunch.
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We had our breakfast buffet and a couple of dinners here during our stay. The breakfast buffet was adequate (not as upscale as I was led to believe) and the service was very good. The dinners were after two long days (one of travel and one of golf) so it was convenient to just clean up and stay local. The first night was basically pizza and beer. The brick oven pizzas were large and reasonable good. The second night was pasta. The servings were large and the red sauce was pretty tasty. Service was OK but not great. If you are looking for fine dining, go elsewhere. If you are looking for convenience, this is the place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daz1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Daz1249

Thank you for your kind review, yes indeed La Cantina is not fine dining but authentic Italian homestyle. We are glad that our breakfast buffet was adequate, we do have an additional a la carte menu, which is upscale. We hope in your next visit you will get a full taste of it.

Kind regards

Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

I ate two breakfasts at La Cantina and one dinner and enjoyed the atmosphere on all occasions. I loved the lentil soup and the home made lasagne - La Cantina is an authentic Italian restaurant - and my service was attentive and prompt.
The same can be said for breakfast where again the unobtrusive service was there when needed.

Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Safariafficionado

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback instantly as it brought motivation to our the team. Egg Florentine was an exciting challenge for the chef and we are sure to have it on the menu going forward. Your visiting was amazing and we are glad you made us of outlets during your stay with us.

Kind regards

Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We visited both for dinner and breakfast. Both offered excellent choices and well-prepared dishes. We particulary appreciated the warm andfriendly service. It is actually the better choice on the Fancourt estate ...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Travel Jan 95,
Thank you for taking time to share your great feedback with us, We are happy that you had the best of La cantina experience, on both meal periods, breakfast and dinner, it means a lot to us to hear that you received warm and friendly service from our staff.
We hope for many more visits
Kind Regards.
Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Like my heading, amazing wood fire pizzas. The restaurant has a classy yet family atmosphere. The menu is diverse and has a variety of dishes to choose from. I always have the pizza and have never been disappointed. Our friends who was first time visitors complimented the pizza as the best they ever had. Service is friendly and efficient.

Definitely highly recommended!

Thank gerry19742016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Gerry

Your amazing review is very pleasing to us and gives us confidence in our pizzas.
We are happy that you brought friends and they also had an amazing time.
We thank you for sharing the feedback and we appreciate it very much.

Kind regards

Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Me and my wife dine at La Cantina for our wedding anniversary and everything was top, from food to service to ambience, our waiter Gerry was great, attention to details making sure our glass where always full. The meal was outstanding, we had calamari, octopus Carpaccio, ravioli and pizza, everything was delicious!
Definitely a huge improve since last we where there as food and service related!
Good job La Cantina!
See you soon definitely!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Princesart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Princesart

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary with us. We are happy that Gerry our star waiter was attentive to your needs, it is our endeavour that our guests get such kind of treatment. It pleases that you noted a huge improvement from the last time you were here, we always want to grow.

Kind regards

Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing