We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service with a heart”
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #12 of 115 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Cantina provides the perfect setting for relaxed family dining. With its traditional Italian menu, La Cantina treats guests to an authentic Mediterranean culinary experience ranging from homemade pastas to succulent steaks. The warm, inviting atmosphere is not limited to the evening meal - La Cantina serves a buffet breakfast daily and a Sunday buffet lunch.
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We visited both for dinner and breakfast. Both offered excellent choices and well-prepared dishes. We particulary appreciated the warm andfriendly service. It is actually the better choice on the Fancourt estate ...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Travel Jan 95,
Thank you for taking time to share your great feedback with us, We are happy that you had the best of La cantina experience, on both meal periods, breakfast and dinner, it means a lot to us to hear that you received warm and friendly service from our staff.
We hope for many more visits
Kind Regards.
Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Like my heading, amazing wood fire pizzas. The restaurant has a classy yet family atmosphere. The menu is diverse and has a variety of dishes to choose from. I always have the pizza and have never been disappointed. Our friends who was first time visitors complimented the pizza as the best they ever had. Service is friendly and efficient.

Definitely highly recommended!

Thank gerry19742016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Gerry

Your amazing review is very pleasing to us and gives us confidence in our pizzas.
We are happy that you brought friends and they also had an amazing time.
We thank you for sharing the feedback and we appreciate it very much.

Kind regards

Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Me and my wife dine at La Cantina for our wedding anniversary and everything was top, from food to service to ambience, our waiter Gerry was great, attention to details making sure our glass where always full. The meal was outstanding, we had calamari, octopus Carpaccio, ravioli and pizza, everything was delicious!
Definitely a huge improve since last we where there as food and service related!
Good job La Cantina!
See you soon definitely!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Princesart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Princesart

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary with us. We are happy that Gerry our star waiter was attentive to your needs, it is our endeavour that our guests get such kind of treatment. It pleases that you noted a huge improvement from the last time you were here, we always want to grow.

Kind regards

Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This is our usual favourite Friday Date Night restaurant of choice. Great service, friendly staff and the management team is fantastic. We highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for the best woodfired pizza's (Lucky sure know's how to make a great pizza!) We have never had a bad experience or meal at La Cantina - everything from pasta, steak, chicken, pizza, even the desserts are tops. The tiramisu is by far my favourite :-) We always look forward to going to La Cantina.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Jacky B

Thank you for your continued patronage, yes indeed Lucky is the best pizza chef around and this reinforces our belief and we will recognise him. We appreciated you sharing your feedback.

Kind regards

Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

La Cantina is a very relaxing place to dine. Breakfast was first class. In the evening we thought the menu was interesting and provided plenty of selection, as was the wine list.The food was delicious and very reasonably priced.The service was excellent and the staff charming and attentive,especially Simphiwe who looked after us.The thing we noted was they all looked happy in their work- always smiling!
We had a fantastic week at Fancourt and shall definitely consider another holiday there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GECOOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerFNB, Manager at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Gecook

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing feedback, and for recognising our staff by name, this means a lot to us. We are glad that you had a relaxing time with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Fisani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing