We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MikeGrahamHermanus
Hermanus

Worth the 5-star rating

Review of The Manor House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 May 2024
We have been staying at The Manor House for many years now after 20+ years of visits to Fancourt before (some 50 or so reservations since early 2000. Whilst one might pay extra for staying here it is well worth it. Very comfortable accommodation in suites (we always have a Homewood). Nice lounge, large bedroom with plenty of space, aircon, clock/radio, telephone and underfloor heating. Huge bathroom with stand-alone bath, double wash basins, shower and toilet. Plenty of cupboard and drawer space for clothing. Hairdryer, lots of complimentary toiletries, heated towel rail and underfloor heating. Ample towels which are exchanged daily. Bathrobes too. The entrance lobby has a coffee maker, hot water boiler and fridge. There are 5 decanters of spirits and the fridge is stocked daily with wine, beers, soft drinks, etc. Daily maid and turn-down service. The manor House offers afternoon canapés, cake and bubbly or tea if preferred. There is a private pool, sun loungers and the ground floor rooms have a patio with small table and chairs. restaurant bookings, golf tee times, Spa treatment times can be booked at the front desk. What else do you need???? Fancourt offers packages of golf or Spa treatment. Taxis are available into town FOC plus airport shuttle.The staff are terrific - Bianca as Manager and her dedicated team of May, Patience, Danielle, Timothy and the lads really look after your every need. Adjacent parking. A venue to enjoy whether for a day or so or longer. Back again in October for more luxury.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this review
Responded 06 May 2024
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We will pass your comments onto The Manor House team as they will be delighted to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in October.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 420
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 670
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 960
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 670
0.1 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 336
  • Priceline
    R 1 337
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 336
  • Vio.com
    R 1 336
5.4 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 620
  • Agoda.com
    R 620
  • Vio.com
    R 620
  • ZenHotels.com
3.6 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
R 1 919
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 919
  • Priceline
    R 1 801
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 919
3.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 900
R 750
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Expedia.com
    R 774
  • Hotels.com
    R 900
7.7 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 300
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 480
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 231
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 860
2.6 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 050
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 050
  • Vio.com
    R 1 050
7.2 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 820
  • Priceline
    R 820
  • Agoda.com
    R 628
  • Trip.com
    R 911
0.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 820
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 820
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 820
  • Priceline
18.1 km from The Manor House
Free parking
Pool
R 1 980
R 1 650
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 650
  • Priceline
    R 1 980
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 980
10.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
107
7
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
7
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cantina sparkling wine fantastic hotel attention to detail superb condition lovely pool courses golf privilege
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2024

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manor House. The staff were all wonderful, and can't do enough for you. The suite was a good size with direct access to the pool from our lounge room. Each ground floor suite has a small outdoor sitting area with a table and chairs, perfect to enjoy a cup of tea in the morning. Lovely breakfast at Henry White's each morning. I recommend HW over Cantina, as the atmosphere is very peaceful and relaxed; however if you have an early tee off, the buffet at Cantina is faster. The daily afternoon tea was lovely, savoury canapés and cakes with sparking wine. One comment however is that when the food runs out it is not replenished. Our husband's arrived for afternoon tea about 45 minutes after us (still during the afternoon tea service) and when we asked for more canapés, I was told that once they are finished that's it! I was surprised and would have expected the canapés to be replenished as long as people are enjoy the afternoon tea. The massage in the main hotel was one of the best I have ever had in my in my life! Highly recommend, also book these in advance, as I only booked one before arrival and could not get another appointment during our stay. I would have booked a treatment every day if I knew how good it was! My only negative comment - the food in Cantina needs improvement. We had dinner there once and decided to cancel our second booking. Overall, we absolutely loved The Manor House at Fancourt and will absolutely be returning again in the future. Thanks to all of the staff at the Manor House for making it such a lovely stay. Already planning to return!

Room tip: Book your spa/massage before you arrive. The massages are fantastic but difficult to book once you are there due to their popularity.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We will pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House at Fancourt in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023 via mobile

The Manor House delivers a luxury hotel experience beyond compare. From the friendly front of house team, May, Danielle and Elie to name a few, to the discreet and courteous housekeepers, our time at Fancourt was truly memorable. Nothing was too much trouble, and numerous delightful touches like complimentary transfers from the airport, canapés and afternoon tea in the lounge area and a welcome message and wine upon our arrival, all elevate the Fancourt experience.

Add to this a stunning location, a beautiful secure estate, world class golf, excellent restaurants and it’s difficult to describe it other than perfect. The spa is undergoing renovations, so difficult to comment on this, although I suspect it will be similarly impressive when completed.

Highly recommended, an amazing hotel, and we will definitely be returning in the future!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JohnW334
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We will pass your comments onto the team as they will be delighted to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House and Fancourt in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2022 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel. . Beautiful hotel situated in George. Staff can't do enough for you, they make you feel very special, it's a privilege to be here. Beautiful swimming pool, canapés and sparkling wine in the afternoon, there is everything here that you could want more from a hotel. I have travelled the world and stayed in some fabulous places but there is no hotel to rival this one. You must visit this hotel, can't speak highly enough about it.

Room tip: Hotel does not allow children so there is peace and tranquility
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay and that you enjoyed all the offerings. Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2022 via mobile

Excellent facilities and even better service. Very personalised and attentive. Rooms were clean with all of what you would need and more. Location also outstanding. Suggest the room with the balcony, subject to affordability. Also try the La Cantina restaurant next door.

Room tip: Avoid golf season
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 340akashs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We will pass your comments onto the team as they will be delighted to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2022

Have been blown over by the attention to detail at Manor House Hotel.
Thsi is one of the best places I have stayed in. All the staff are fantastic, in particular Mark who comes looking for us when he is on duty to may sure that we are ok.

It is such a lovely place, quiet but not imposing. Lovely pool. The breakfast at La Cantina has every type of food you can think of. Martha is very patient with us, she is trying to teach us Xhosa. In fact all the staff at Fancourt has made us feel like family. There are three very good golf courses here, all in superb condition. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms appear to be better
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We will pass your comments onto the team as they will be delighted to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews