We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cazza
Langstone, United Kingdom

Fantastic Hotel

Review of The Manor House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Nov 2022via mobile
What a beautiful hotel. . Beautiful hotel situated in George. Staff can't do enough for you, they make you feel very special, it's a privilege to be here. Beautiful swimming pool, canapés and sparkling wine in the afternoon, there is everything here that you could want more from a hotel. I have travelled the world and stayed in some fabulous places but there is no hotel to rival this one. You must visit this hotel, can't speak highly enough about it.
Date of stay: November 2022
Room Tip: Hotel does not allow children so there is peace and tranquility
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this review
Responded 30 Nov 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay and that you enjoyed all the offerings. Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 507
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Pool
Burrough Place
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 150
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room Kilimanjaro
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 893
  • Booking.com
3.3 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 434
  • Booking.com
4.7 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 920
  • Booking.com
3.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Oppisee fron view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 140
  • Hotels.com
8.4 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 202
  • Booking.com
5.2 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Express Inn
R 1 030
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
4.8 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 655
  • eDreams
10.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 561
  • Booking.com
12.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
107
7
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
7
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cantina sparkling wine fantastic hotel attention to detail superb condition lovely pool courses golf privilege
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2022 via mobile

Excellent facilities and even better service. Very personalised and attentive. Rooms were clean with all of what you would need and more. Location also outstanding. Suggest the room with the balcony, subject to affordability. Also try the La Cantina restaurant next door.

Room tip: Avoid golf season
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 340akashs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We will pass your comments onto the team as they will be delighted to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2022

Have been blown over by the attention to detail at Manor House Hotel.
Thsi is one of the best places I have stayed in. All the staff are fantastic, in particular Mark who comes looking for us when he is on duty to may sure that we are ok.

It is such a lovely place, quiet but not imposing. Lovely pool. The breakfast at La Cantina has every type of food you can think of. Martha is very patient with us, she is trying to teach us Xhosa. In fact all the staff at Fancourt has made us feel like family. There are three very good golf courses here, all in superb condition. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms appear to be better
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We will pass your comments onto the team as they will be delighted to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2021

My wife and I have stayed at The Manor House on several occasions over recent months and we love it. We always have a Holmwood Suite on the ground floor. The room has a utility area just inside the door with a stocked fridge (replenished daily) and coffee pod machine, hot water dispenser and a milk warmer. There are several decanters of spirits also. Plenty of plates, glasses, cutlery and bottled water. The lounge area is of a decent size and has a free WiFi, AC, settee, easy chairs, coffee table plus a large screen HDTV with 55 channels. The patio doors open out to a table and chairs and access to the private swimming pool area with sun beds. Large bedroom with a Kingsize bed, underfloor heating, bedside tables and AC. The bathroom/dressing area contains a stand-alone bath, double wash basins, plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, toilet and shower. Linen changed very regularly, hairdryer, dressing table, umbrellas and bathrobes. Underfloor heating and heated towel rail. Plenty of amenities like shower soaps, creams, bath crystals, etc. The suite doesn't want for anything and is in a very quiet location. There are also rooms on the 1st floor with a small balcony. Afternoon cakes and canapés prior to dinner are included. Breakfast is taken at one of the restaurantsThe building has a lounge and bar. All the staff are great, very helpful and courteous, led by Jayne Barlow, the manager. A great place to stay. Not cheap but well worth staying even if only for a special occasion.

Room tip: Rooms overlook or face the private swimming pool area.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019

We were booked in to Fancourt for a 4 night golfing stay, but on arrival were upgraded to the Manor House. What can I say? The whole experience was amazing, fantastic rooms, spacious, beautifully decorated, opening onto a courtyard, the door surrounded with fragrant jasmine. Large bathroom, sumptuous robes. The setup is very quaint, with the library and drawing room, but every detail is attended to. Service was second to none.
We played all 3 Fancourt courses, all stunning, especially the Links. The Roman Bath was great, as the weather wasn't good enough to swim in the outdoor pool, so enabled us to luxuriate in the warm pool instead.
We had a fabulous time.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisBAmersham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheManorHouseManager, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in our beautiful country and had a safe and uneventful trip home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019

We stayed at the MH for 5 nights on the last leg of our anniversary SA trip and to experience Fancourt. OMG so glad we did. The Manor House is a luxury boutique hotel. Beautiful location and surrounndings. This is a well kept beautiful decorated.property. The MH is in a great location with a short walk to the Fancourt facilities.

We were made to feel like royalty from arrival to departure. The Manager, Jayne and all the Concierge Team were fantastic, We were given first class customer service throughout our stay. The Team could not do enough to make our stay special and on occasions went beyond service we have ever experienced.

The room was fantastic. Lovely decorated with everything you could want in a room. Separate living area, large comfortable bedromm and very large bathroom with under floor heating, The room was very clean and thanks to housekeeping for making the towel display on the bed- it was outstanding.

The MH is compact but just perfect. Quests can make use of the outdoor swimming pool, which is lovely. The library and honesty bar were a step back in time but so fitting for this historic building. The drawing rooms are beautiffuly decorated with afternoon tea served. Please try the cakes and canapes, they are to die for.

Breakfast is served in HW , however we opted to use the adjoining retauarnt due to golf tee times. The Team did offer to set up brealfast in our room which was a lovely touch.

The Concierge Team are amazing. Their attention to detail is first class. We unfortunately got soaked during our golf round and the team kindly offered to take our wet clothes to be dried, that was appreciated. Special thanks to Bianca for her amazing ability to provide the wow factor in customer service on several occasions..

The Concierge Team (Bianca) also recommended restauarants which were fantastic and arranged transport to take us and pick us up. Special thanks to Charles, who was the most lovely, polite man and provided us with the history of the location during our trips. He was outstanding.

Would highly recommend the Manor House and will definitely return to this hidden gem.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui28M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheManorHouseManager, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at The Manor House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

I have shared your comments with our team, and with Bianca, your Concierge, who is thrilled by your remarks. We have also shared your lovely words with Charles. He was very touched!

We trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our special country, and had a safe and uneventful trip home?

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to seeing you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews