We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MikeGrahamHermanus
Hermanus

Excellent Boutique Hotel

Review of The Manor House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jul 2021
My wife and I have stayed at The Manor House on several occasions over recent months and we love it. We always have a Holmwood Suite on the ground floor. The room has a utility area just inside the door with a stocked fridge (replenished daily) and coffee pod machine, hot water dispenser and a milk warmer. There are several decanters of spirits also. Plenty of plates, glasses, cutlery and bottled water. The lounge area is of a decent size and has a free WiFi, AC, settee, easy chairs, coffee table plus a large screen HDTV with 55 channels. The patio doors open out to a table and chairs and access to the private swimming pool area with sun beds. Large bedroom with a Kingsize bed, underfloor heating, bedside tables and AC. The bathroom/dressing area contains a stand-alone bath, double wash basins, plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, toilet and shower. Linen changed very regularly, hairdryer, dressing table, umbrellas and bathrobes. Underfloor heating and heated towel rail. Plenty of amenities like shower soaps, creams, bath crystals, etc. The suite doesn't want for anything and is in a very quiet location. There are also rooms on the 1st floor with a small balcony. Afternoon cakes and canapés prior to dinner are included. Breakfast is taken at one of the restaurantsThe building has a lounge and bar. All the staff are great, very helpful and courteous, led by Jayne Barlow, the manager. A great place to stay. Not cheap but well worth staying even if only for a special occasion.
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Rooms overlook or face the private swimming pool area.
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fancourt Management, Marketing at The Manor House, responded to this review
Responded 02 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 670
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 4 420
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 960
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 670
0.1 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 336
  • Priceline
    R 1 337
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 336
  • Vio.com
    R 1 336
5.4 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 620
  • Agoda.com
    R 620
  • Vio.com
    R 620
  • ZenHotels.com
3.6 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
R 1 919
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 919
  • Priceline
    R 1 801
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 919
3.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 900
R 750
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Expedia.com
    R 774
  • Hotels.com
    R 900
7.7 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 300
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 438
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 231
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 860
2.6 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 050
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 050
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 050
  • Vio.com
    R 1 050
7.2 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 820
  • Agoda.com
    R 628
  • Trip.com
    R 911
  • Vio.com
    R 698
0.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 820
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 820
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 820
  • Priceline
18.1 km from The Manor House
Free parking
Pool
R 1 980
R 1 650
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 650
  • Priceline
    R 1 980
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 980
10.5 km from The Manor House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
107
7
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
7
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cantina sparkling wine fantastic hotel attention to detail superb condition lovely pool courses golf privilege
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2019

We were booked in to Fancourt for a 4 night golfing stay, but on arrival were upgraded to the Manor House. What can I say? The whole experience was amazing, fantastic rooms, spacious, beautifully decorated, opening onto a courtyard, the door surrounded with fragrant jasmine. Large bathroom, sumptuous robes. The setup is very quaint, with the library and drawing room, but every detail is attended to. Service was second to none.
We played all 3 Fancourt courses, all stunning, especially the Links. The Roman Bath was great, as the weather wasn't good enough to swim in the outdoor pool, so enabled us to luxuriate in the warm pool instead.
We had a fabulous time.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisBAmersham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheManorHouseManager, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in our beautiful country and had a safe and uneventful trip home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019

We stayed at the MH for 5 nights on the last leg of our anniversary SA trip and to experience Fancourt. OMG so glad we did. The Manor House is a luxury boutique hotel. Beautiful location and surrounndings. This is a well kept beautiful decorated.property. The MH is in a great location with a short walk to the Fancourt facilities.

We were made to feel like royalty from arrival to departure. The Manager, Jayne and all the Concierge Team were fantastic, We were given first class customer service throughout our stay. The Team could not do enough to make our stay special and on occasions went beyond service we have ever experienced.

The room was fantastic. Lovely decorated with everything you could want in a room. Separate living area, large comfortable bedromm and very large bathroom with under floor heating, The room was very clean and thanks to housekeeping for making the towel display on the bed- it was outstanding.

The MH is compact but just perfect. Quests can make use of the outdoor swimming pool, which is lovely. The library and honesty bar were a step back in time but so fitting for this historic building. The drawing rooms are beautiffuly decorated with afternoon tea served. Please try the cakes and canapes, they are to die for.

Breakfast is served in HW , however we opted to use the adjoining retauarnt due to golf tee times. The Team did offer to set up brealfast in our room which was a lovely touch.

The Concierge Team are amazing. Their attention to detail is first class. We unfortunately got soaked during our golf round and the team kindly offered to take our wet clothes to be dried, that was appreciated. Special thanks to Bianca for her amazing ability to provide the wow factor in customer service on several occasions..

The Concierge Team (Bianca) also recommended restauarants which were fantastic and arranged transport to take us and pick us up. Special thanks to Charles, who was the most lovely, polite man and provided us with the history of the location during our trips. He was outstanding.

Would highly recommend the Manor House and will definitely return to this hidden gem.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui28M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheManorHouseManager, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at The Manor House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

I have shared your comments with our team, and with Bianca, your Concierge, who is thrilled by your remarks. We have also shared your lovely words with Charles. He was very touched!

We trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our special country, and had a safe and uneventful trip home?

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to seeing you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019 via mobile

This was our third visit to Fancourt and 2nd visit to The Manor House. We were blown away the first time and only could stay one night so for my 60th birthday I asked my husband for a return trip. As we come from Florida this was a big request and the Manor House did not disappoint. From arrival to departure they do absolutely everything to make your stay the absolute best experience. It's the little things that make it so amazing. We asked to have breakfast at the house and it was raining so they quickly set it up in the little library. The afternoon tea is always made special with a different cake and little savory treats every day. No request is turned down and it's always delivered with a smile.
Cant forget the dinner at Henry Whites either, my husband wanted Springbok which was not on the menu and the chef went out of his way to get some in time for our dinner, this is above and beyond what most places do for the guests.
Thank you to all the staff for making my trip one of the best memories I will ever have!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mnlschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheManorHouseManager, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay and that you enjoyed all the offerings and the beautiful surrounds of The Manor House! Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2019

We spent 4 fantastic days at the Manor House. We are frequent visitors to fancourt and have been visiting the estate for he past 20 years. And we keep going back! This was our first stay in the Manor house - what an absolute treat. The rooms are spacious and luxurious - everything you could want is catered for. Rooms are very quiet. The Manor House private lounge and "honesty" bar hark back to bygone area. High tea is served in the afternoons in the tranquil lounge. Service at the Manor is excellent - restaurant recommendations were offered and reservations booked. The Fancourt spa, golf facilities and gym are very clean and well maintained. And Montague and Outenquia are impeccably maintained, a pleasure to play and set in beautiful surroundings. A memorable stay and look forward to coming back to stay for another 20 years!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fancourtfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheManorHouseManager, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay and that you enjoyed all the offerings and the beautiful surrounds of The Manor House and the resort!

Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

Manor house at Fancourt hotel is excellent!!! 19 suites only!!! Next to 3 world class golf courses!!! The rooms had all the amenities espresso machines every evening turn down our room fresh towels water bottles in the fridge!!!
Breakfast amazing the afternoon free champagne and canapés in the most beautiful living room overlooking the gardens and a very comfortable library
The service by Barry Broadbent and all the staff was impeccable
Congratulations we would definitely come back !!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EvangeliaG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KarienN9, DCC at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent visit to The Manor House. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay. We appreciate your comments about the staff and we will pass it on to them.

Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews