We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
marthamagdalenab
Cape Town, South Africa

Caledon 23 Country House

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Sept 2020
Even though it was still lockdown, I did not want for anything. The take-away breakfast is excellent and Rita adapted it to suit my specific requirements. They adhered to restrictions, without restricting service.
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rita Steinberg, Owner at Caledon 23 Country House, responded to this review
Responded 07 Sept 2020
Thank you for the positive feedback!
We do what we can to make life easier in these difficult times.
Stay safe, stay healthy...until next time Marthie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 514
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 510
  • Hotels.com
3.1 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 036
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Protea Hotels
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 733
  • Expedia.com
1.8 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 5 674
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 674
5.0 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Oppisee fron view
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 134
  • Booking.com
7.4 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Express Inn
Tripadvisor
R 1 240
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 697
  • eDreams
4.9 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 595
  • Booking.com
7.8 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 656
  • Priceline
11.5 km from Caledon 23 Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
90
17
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
90
17
1
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2020

Rooms and bathrooms are very well equipped. You have your own private terrace. Breakfast is excellent. There is a generator in case of a power cut. The guesthouse is on a walking distance of some good restaurants. Owners are very friendly and accommodating Perfect place for a stay in George, we can recommend it to everyone

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rita S, Owner at Caledon 23 Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Dear Louis-Marja

Thank you for you lovely and positive feedback. We aid to provide the best service and facilities we can, and is grateful for the wonderful guests, like yourself, stay with us.
Have a lovely day.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2020

Close to alot as wilderness, Herolds beach and other nice things. Also close to many good restaurants and food stores. Very safe area. We were travelling with our little boy and theyre so sweet with him

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erosen730625
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2020 via mobile

Apart from all the normal things you would expect, the attention to detail set it apart like a small pair of scissors to cut the coffee packets open rather than rip them apart. Breakfast is fantastic with fruit salads looking like a piece of art.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 623elmarieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rita S, Owner at Caledon 23 Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Dear 623elmarieb,

Thank you for taking time to give Caledon23 positive feedback.

Not only does Ria present every guest with delicious food each morning but as you say also with a piece of art. It amazes me how she sometimes can "manufacture" every individual breakfast from very little.

Safe travels.

Louw and Rita Steinberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Very modern an clean, with everything you need to make your stay pleasant. Friendly management and staff with that personal touch you want. Will always use them again when staying in George. Guest house is close to restaurants and central to town if you need to pop in.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rita S, Owner at Caledon 23 Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Dear Martin,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and Caledon23.

We wish you and family a prosperous new year.

Remember, should the need arise, we would be happy to help.

Regards,
Louw and Rita Steinberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed with Louw & Rita’s country house for two nights in George during our drive on Garden Route. Its a cosy & comfortable guest house. Both Louw & Rita are amazing. Extremely responsive on email queries and then they help u out with advise around the place once you reach. Thanks a ton and we’ll be back :-))

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mosumiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rita S, Owner at Caledon 23 Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Dear Mosumiti,

We highly appreciate your review of Caledon23 and Staff rendering good service.

We wish you all the best for your journey to your various destination and also a very prosperous 2020.

Let me know how you enjoyed the tandem paragliding experience.

Regards,
Louw and Rita Steinberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews