We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the Ribs!!!”
Review of Cafe Serefe

Cafe Serefe
Ranked #11 of 130 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Although Turkish elements are still present in the foods and ambience, the emphasis moved to serving outstanding South African cuisine at the most affordable prices.
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The absolute best place in the Garden Route for tender, tasty, and abundant ribs. Only offered on Thursday evenings. You will need to book a reservation about a week ahead to insure a table.

Thank Rodney_Poplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolindyDreyer, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Serefe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good day Rodney
Thank you for your great review! Happy that you love the ribs and thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

I have not visited this restaurant in years, moved to another town. Was always a favourite, but its amazing how the always traditional food has transformed to something completely different.
I ordered Lamb pita with tzasiki and salad. The pita was a pre made, doughy, store bought item, filled with cheese, slice tomato and lamb. Cheese? Traditional? Where is the lemon, Greek yoghurt and leafy herbs? Glorified cheese and tomato sandwich.

A friend ordered the Turkish trio, loved it, was tasty, anything but traditional. Sweet and sticky basting on the lamb, koftas and kebabs. What happened to traditional olive oil, lemon and garlic?

I remember a traditional experience, and reading the menu it should still be. Somewhere along the line somebody started medling with the dishes, added cheese and basting sauce to everything and forgot the "traditional Turkish" along the way.

A great disappointment.

1  Thank ManaoHoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolindyDreyer, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Serefe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear ManaoHoana,
It saddens us to read about your negative experience at our restaurant.
Our vision with Kafe Serefe has always been to create a restaurant that offers South African cuisine with a Turkish twist. We enhance the Turkish theme visually with our decor, but we found with regards to dishes and taste that the South African palate does not as a rule enjoy the authentic Turkish cuisine.
We are passionate about our service and food and we take great pride in all that we do. We endeavour to source the best quality ingredients to offer our guests. Our pita's and breads we've been buying from the same local bakery all these years.
Please feel free to pop in for a coffee when you are in the area again, as we would love to win you back as a happy customer.
We hope you have a fantastic day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Their menu is exquisite offering dishes you do not easily find anywhere else in the Garden Route. It has a Turkish theme, is warm and cosy and offers belly dancing entertainment

Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolindyDreyer, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Serefe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Good day Liz! Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are passionate about what we do, and it is always so rewarding to receive positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We had a Set Menu arranged and Wow was it fantastic.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. After the drinks order and Starters it took a long time for them to take order for mains and the people who didn't have starters was hungry. but it all worked out fabulously in the end.

Thank Melanita007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

A great restaurant to visit in George. Lovely atmosphere with friendly and efficient staff. Great menu with adequate wine list.

We visited specifically to try their famous rib night and were not disappointed. Large portions with awesome barbecue sauce.

Judging by the full restaurant, booking typically required on a Thursday , lots of patrons share my sentiments.

Thank D6148JQstephenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolindyDreyer, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Serefe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Wow thank you very much for your kind review! It is always great to hear such positive feedback - hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Serefe also viewed

George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Serefe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing