We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mitch Gomes
South Africa

Accused of theft !

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Apr 2023via mobile
Terrible experience. Paid a good amount of money to stay at the hotel to receive phone calls and emails straight after checkout accusing us of “ taking “ Hotel Gowns. We explained our frustrations of checking in with no gowns to start with and then being told we took them. We even offered that they then search our bags. They launched an apparent through investigation a few hours after we left into their gowns going missing stating that security and housekeeping were sure we took it and that we would be charged for it. So at this point they pretty much said we stole it. This is the same people who could not serve a clean dinning area for breakfast after the previous nights dinner buffet. Oubaai Hotel, I will rather donate five times the value of your gowns to a charity of your choice than pay for something we never took ! We didn’t use any complementary shampoo or shower gel, nor take the free slippers but we apparently have a thing for stealing gowns.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 5 660
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 660
10.4 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Burrough Place
Tripadvisor
R 1 004
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 004
10.8 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Tripadvisor
R 1 724
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
10.2 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 408
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
11.1 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 785
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
14.7 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 282
R 1 214
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
11.2 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 532
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.0 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 815
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 815
18.2 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 2 449
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 449
11.2 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Express Inn
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 211
  • Hotels.com
11.0 km from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
267
185
133
67
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
267
185
133
67
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden route herolds bay stunning views cape town hyatt golf pity premises
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2023

Slightly odd experience. Great staff on arrival, lovely communal areas, and a fantastic room. breakfast was decent too.

But the place was empty and it all felt very strange as a result.

Very disappointing too that the restaurant they chose to close (due to the numbers visiting no doubt) was the nicer one, leaving just an average pub type place

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BackPacker800547
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

Well other than the arrival this hotel should not be sold. I checked in on good Friday and had spa appointments booked but from the room we could not cope. We wanted to meet with the GM but was told that Bryan was not available due to it being a holidays. With reviews being so bad if it had been me, I would have sure that i was present. Restaurants very bad for dinner, had to travel to Fancourt.

Worst experience ever!!

Room tip: Stay away!!!!!
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eshark111578
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2023 via mobile

Nice overall resort that is trying its best to improve
Which cannot be easy after covid , the golf course looks fantastic ,,this complex covers a huge area and has its own shuttle bus which is free to use , food was ok , staff were always helpful.
Many thanks .

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Todmordenbanjoplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2023 via mobile

The rooms were awful and dirty. Breakfast room service dishes in the corridor at 6pm at night, carpets and furniture stained, bathroom tiles cracked and bathroom basin cracked. We checked out immediately and were promised a full refund. Struggling to get any information on when this will be done. Do not, I repeat, do not think of this hotel for your stay in George.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2023

We have stayed there on several occassions and loved it but after spending 3 days trying to book I decided to read the reviews. I'm so pleased I did I had heard that this hotel was not the hotel it used to be and it would appear it isn't. So by not answering my phone calls you did me a favour. Not being able to get through to booking does not bode well for staying there. I can only comment on the service from the reservations dept.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews