We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
113
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
113
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house cape town well stocked bar home away from home pre dinner drinks the cottages small pool lola bartlett host garden sa supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2021

The Stables is an absolutely gorgeous gem where we stayed annually for the past 15 years and will continue to do so for years to come! A lush, secluded paradise full of flowers and birds with a small pool and well-maintained garden to sit in and relax. The cottage type rooms are comfortable and characterful. The main house contains a beautiful sittingroom full of books and pictures plus a well-stocked bar area for free pre-dinner drinks.
Lola Bartlett is a delightful and superb hostess who will always go the extra mile. She serves a delicious and generous breakfast which keeps you going for the main part of the day.
Parking on the premises, good security. Situated among the historical Constantia vineyards with easy access to local pubs, restaurants and galleries in the southern part of Cape Town.
Recommended!

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank Fam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

what a beautiful stay I had. The cottage was gorgeous with 2 en suite bedrooms and set in breathtaking gardens - even in winter! The beds were comfortable, with lovely linen and a cosy duvet. The host, Lola, was very accommodating too. The position was perfect and central, without being in the centre. Can’t recommend this lovely stay highly enough. Thank you!

Room tip: Make sure you book in advance to avoid not being able to stay!
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tamsinf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2020

The Constantia Stables is, without doubt, an amazing experience. We have been staying here on our annual trip for many years and the comfort and charm are without compare. Securely located in beautiful lush gardens the accommodation varies between well equipped cosy rooms to self contained cottages with every amenity. Relax in or by the sparkling pool, or bath in shade or sunshine on the lawn. Lola makes every attempt to provide a very special experience including complimentary early evening drinks in the snug and a breakfast experience second to none. Constantia is a beautiful area in the company of wine estate and superb restaurants, and all within easy reach of Cape Town's famous waterfront, Table Mountain and several beautiful bays. If you are planning a visit to this area, this is the place to stay.

Room tip: One double room cottage with private balcony and kitchenette for two or two en suite rooms cottage with living room and kitchen for four.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeJarvis950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

We return every winter for a holiday and love staying with Lola at The Stables. Her welcome and hospitality is second to none. The garden is beautiful and lovely to relax in, under the trees. Constantia is a great area for exploring Cape Town.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank G270TMjosephk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2020

We have just returned from a 9 day stay at Constantia Stables. We have stayed in many different types of accommodation all over the world, but I can honestly say that Constantia Stables is a special place.

The grounds are beautiful, with many different types of trees, shrubs and flowers. A small pool and loungers are available for daytime use. There is a small library for quiet reading.

The studio we stayed in was spotless with beautiful linens, welcome biscuits, coffee, tea and milk in the fridge. It was very spacious, had a balcony and did have self catering facilities and absolutely everything was provided. There was also a small safe in the wardrobe, and adjustable and quiet air conditioning. Every attention to detail has been paid with the aim of making your stay more comfortable.

Lola, our hostess, was a delight and couldn't have made our stay more welcoming. Her breakfasts are fantastic with a vast array of fruits, breads, cheeses and cold meats etc. Additionally a freshly cooked breakfast is available to order.

An intimate bar is a gathering point in the early evening for any guests who wish to sit for a while with a complimentary drink. Lola is a treasure trove of knowledge of the local area, customs and restaurants to visit.

Cape Town and the airport are only 20mins away. There are lots of vineyards and restaurants locally where food is good and inexpensive. The Stables are in a quiet area, and totally secure.

I would completely recommend Constantia Stables as a great experience and the best value for money I have had in a long time.

Room tip: All of Lolas rooms are good and very individual, some have stairs, others do not.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ebccrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews