We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
211
16
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
16
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town beautifully appointed rooms family suite plunge pool lounge area boutique hotel busy road an oasis our honeymoon small pool every member of staff attention to detail stayed here for nights at home hidden gem relaxing stay the hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2016

I love The Constantia. I go to Cape Town regularly and stay there as much as I can. Perfect location in the heart of the Cape Town winelands, huge rooms, delicious brekkie and really lovely staff. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room tip: The pool suites are particularly lovely and extra spacious.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BeanieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you love staying with us at The Last Word Constantia and we can't wait to have you back.

The Last Word team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Our family of 22 persons spent an amazing 9 days over Christmas at this very special place. Our 12 grandchildren aged 18 moths to 16 years loved the beautiful gardens and pool as well as the enormous bedrooms and bathrooms .so did the adults!
Tess, Sam and their staff could not have done more for us supplying numerous games to play in the pool including pool cricket,a swing ball as well as floats and boats!
The breakfasts, compared to many 5 star places were the best we have ever eaten and the service by the staff was lovely- they really looked after us and the children
It was like being in a gorgeous large home - perfect for Christmas
Christmas Eve was very special with a beautifully set table and superb roast turkey dinner .After opening presents round the Christmas tree were were served Bucks Fizz around the pool followed by a wonderful BBQ- the first time the BBQ had been used!

The whole setting was stunning-fresh flowers everywhere- homemade cake daily and lovely teas for the children
We thank Tess and all her staff for looking after us all so well. We had a wonderful time and will never forget you
Food ,service accommodation first rate and atmosphere unbelievable

THANK YOU from the Insley party

Room tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have their own dip pool .the family suite is perfect if you have small children
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marianne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review. We so love hearing from our guests. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at The Last Word. We will all remember the happy time you spent with us at the hotel. The staff, Sam and I so enjoyed meeting all your beautiful grandchildren and we will never forget your kindness and generosity.

We will fondly remember all the many happy memories of celebrating a joyous Christmas with your extended family. It was such a pleasure to host you all at our hotel, and your feedback reflects exactly what we represent in Hospitality.

Wishing you and the family all the best for 2016

Love
Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

My original review was after a brief airing deleted by the owners of the Last Word so I will keep this one brief.
Whilst staying 4 nights at the Constantia Last Word Guest House on night 3 at 10pm water started pouring through the light fittings above the bathroom area of an open plan room.
I took 6 separate videos of the 25 minute ordeal which I have posted to Last Words Facebook page.
The water was eventually coming through multiple light fittings and running down one wall into the wardrobe.
The one member of staff on the premises at night was alerted and eventually turned up with 2 buckets and the news that someone would sort it in the morning....we were amazed as we could not remain in that room it was not resenting and water & electrics do not mix.
He left and returned with another lady who then gathered all our clothing up in our suitcases and moved us, turning off the electrics in that room but unable to stop the flowing leak.
This disruption a nd a sleepless night fearing for consequences with the adjoining room we were moved to left us disappointed with our honeymoon visit to this 5 star guest house.
Before arriving at the Last Word we had sent 3 separate communications through their contact page asking various questions and requesting dining arrangements as we arrived on a Sunday.
NO WORD! They never responded. So we arrived to a lady called Tess who we explained this to but she seemed un-moved by the lack of contact. Also she was quite disparaging of our restaurant choices and made us feel a little uneasy.
The problem came on check out when we were presented with a full bill for 4 nights and an additional R840 for their driver taking us to our evening meals whilst their.
Their website states that guest will enjoy the following 3 key features....a glorious garden ( it is glorious and no extra charge for it ) a sumptuous double room ( it was when dry and no hidden charges for it ) and an in house chauffeur service ( there are the hidden charges )
Neville who transfered us back and forth each night was an amazing man and we were grateful and tipped him he was great!
We were asked if we wanted driving to dinner and as all restaurants were in Constantia close by we thought why not. NO WORD of costs at any stage.
So the approximate £40 bill for transfers was a surprise.
But the issue we had was that on check out I considered that in light of the calamity that we endured this or any 5 star establishment would perhaps charge for 3 instead of 4 nights. However on our last night they settled a R800 ( £40 ) restaurant bill for us.
On check out I wanted to discuss my final bill with the owner who lives next door.
NO WORD from him only that no discount!
The manager Sam ( thoroughly nice guy ) ran back and forth for 20 minutes plus asking the owner a series of questions relayed from me.....never appearing at all to discuss.
Whilst in the Flooding room I sent a further 3 communications via the Last Word website ....NO WORD! NO EMAILS! not whilst there....not since being there.....
So the positives definitely the gorgeous wonderful Neville the driver ( chargeable in house taxi service ) he was charming and so friendly. The wonderful Beauty and other genuine waiting staff at breakfast.
But I cannot believe in my 7 visits to South Africa and hundreds of stays in high end accommodation all over that the attitude of the Owner / management in dealing with what was a serious incident by a total lack of communication.
NO WORD from THE LAST WORD has meant this venue is a LAST RESORT!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 865wayneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Owner at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

This is the second attempt by these guests to discredit our hotel. The first complaint was removed by Tripadvisor because it made personal attacks on people who they seemed to dislike. We cannot remove any correspondence at our liberty if we don’t agree to what has been written. It is the sole prerogative of Tripadvisor.

Many hotels experience guests who threaten exposure on Tripadvisor or other social platforms in order to get discounted fares (And these guests insisted on free nights and free transfers). When a hotel, like we did, disagrees these threats are often carried out in vicious comments, much of which are untrue or exaggerated. So when their malicious personal comments were removed they merely substituted a new angle, but from both sets of correspondence, they make it clear that they demanded free nights and free transport.

When this was refused the situation turned unfortunate. We run a business and when such claims are unjustified we have to make a call and the result of that call was that we adequately compensated the discomfort experienced.

The water situation was nothing like the disaster it was made out to be. A small water pipe, isolated to this room, started leaking and water did come through parts of the ceiling. However, within 30 minutes the guests were upgraded from their superior double room to an elegant suite and as compensation for this inconvenience they were given a free dinner at a restaurant of their choice. (incidentally, cost of the suite they were upgraded to is almost double that of the room they booked and they also stayed in that suite the following night and no extra charge).

Furthermore, no where do we state that our chauffeur service is free. The owner does not live on the premises or next door, just two examples of facts that have been distorted to make the complaint more effective.

We find this kind of blackmail both unfortunate and counterproductive. We pride ourselves in running unique hotels where kindness, care and generosity are paramount to the success of the business. We will make mistakes, but allowing the likes of these guests to return to our hospitality is one we definitely won’t make again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Opted for staying here on the last night of a trip to South Africa and had it not been for using airmiles I might not have found it nor stayed there. Not cheap by any stretch of the imagination even on airmiles. Albeit I have lived in Cape Town previously, finding the venue proved to be quite challenging in a rain storm and the very amiable chap manning the desk until he left was difficult to follow on the phone instructions. Eventually found it, check in was seamless and the suite superb. I could have stayed there for a lot longer! the only niggle was that getting to the breakfast area which is most scenic over the pool and garden, it took some doing to find staff/waiters. For the rates charged I would suspect people popping up regularly to ensure all is as it should be, would have been the case. But it is the opulent and luxurious room, beds, siting area, iornate and large bathroom and mosaic shower that remain in my memories.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berenice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Marketing at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

We're delighted that you found our hotel opulent and luxurious and greatly anticipate your return.

We assume that we will be easier to find the second time round!

Many thanks for your thoughts
The Last Word team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the last word as part of our SA trip. To say it is beautiful is an understatement as it's actually better than thatyes it's expensive but it is better than 5 starbreakfast was perfect and the staff that looked after us amazing!
No minus points at this endthx for having us.we stayed in room 8 which is beautiful but a v v hard bed - my husband loved it I not so much - but that's just me

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Marketing at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

We're so glad your husband enjoyed it and we hope to change your mind the second time around!

Thank you for the good review.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Regards
The Last Word Constantia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews