We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'go-to' place for good steak!”

The Hussar Grill Constantia
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$36
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in Steenberg Village, adjacent to the prestigious Steenberg Golf Estate, Hussar Grill Constantia is somewhat reminiscent of an English gentleman's club. You'll feel like you've stepped into a Charles Dickens novel - complete with a library corner, mahogany wood-paneling and leather upholstery. Indulge in a perfectly aged steak and a glass of fine red wine, before retiring at the bar with a cognac.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This branch of the Hussar Grill lives up to the reputation and expectation of 'best steaks in Cape Town'! We weren't disappointed with excellent fillet and T-bone, good side dishes complemented by good service even at 4pm!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank japoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at The Hussar Grill Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words. I am very pleased to hear that you had a good time.

We value your support and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many thanks,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

Hussars is a restaurant of choice for us. Its not so expensive that you cannot go often. Every time we ahve been - and we sent twice last week - it is consistently excellent - better than excellent. The steaks are fabulous - delicious, tender, juicy and prepare to perfection. The service is outstanding - caring,sincere and attentive, personal and intelligent - without being fake. And the last time we went, we were given 2 complimentary Chocolate martinis at the end of the meal - a gesture that just made our evening - thank you Hussar. If you like chocolate ... or love it ... then treat yourself to one! Died and gone to heaven! Thank you Hussar - you set the bar high, you deliver every time and it is always special for us to come to you and we will keep coming as often as we can. Would I recommend you - an unreserved and absolute YES!

1  Thank karenparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear karenparkin,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Constantia grill room.

We are so happy to hear that our commitment to quality food and service is truly appreciated by our customers. We appreciate your support and look forward to many more memorable experiences with you.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Went to the restaurant on a Sunday evening in Winter . The only place I have eaten a better steak is in New York. Waiters were wonderfully friendly and professional. All of the sides ordered were well cooked and tasty. I cant really find fault with the place and coming from Europe it offers absurd value for money

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason A, Owner at The Hussar Grill Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Good day Claire,

Thank you for your for your review, we value your support and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

This was an unreserved lunch but we were graciously accommodated by friendly waiters. we loved the intimate setting that made us feel as if we were dining at a home rather than an expansive restaurant. the food did not disappoint either. The steak was cooked as ordered and the waitress offered to serve the sauce on the side as opposed to on the pork ribs. Will definitely Italy go again. Worth a visit.

1  Thank Ronelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Ronelle C,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Constantia grill room; your stellar recommendation of us is very much appreciated.

We are thrilled to hear that you were impressed with the food and service, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My sister took me to this restaurant when I was visiting recently. She said I wouldn't get a better steak for miles around and she was right. I had the sirloin with bearnaise sauce, which is a favourite of mine and hard to find these days. I ended up eating what was left of her fillet with pepper sauce too. The sides were tasty. My sister also raves about the chocolate martinis but I had no space. I can highly recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Steffi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Steffi M,

Thank you for your review of our Constantia steakhouse.

We are delighted to hear that our carefully aged sirloin was cooked to perfection! We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent Hussar experience (and to try our chocolate martini).

Warm regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Constantia also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing