We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Caxton Manor(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Constantia White Lodge(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cellars-Hohenort(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$325
US$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dongola Guest House(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Place Guesthouse(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Constantia Valley Lodge(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Last Word Constantia(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$222
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
169
37
16
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
37
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose barla bellecape townawesome hotela popular placericotta pancakesclose to homecomplimentary breakfasthighly recommend this hotelgreat decorrooms are amazingcasual restaurantfillet steakclose to townnext morninglovely lunchrooms are huge
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Relaxed lunch outside La Belle food and service was great (excellent marinaded chicken and lemon cous cous,spinach hummus, mussels and rack of lamb) only downside was the hideous piped music which was not needed!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kath O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us at la Belle Bistro and I thank you for your feedback regarding the music.

We hope to see you again soon

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I expected a lot more from this hotel for how much it cost. From the pictures online the hotel looks really cool with great decor but it was actually quite tacky with some really strange interiors. A few pro's and cons below:
+ great location, Constantia is beautiful
+ was clearly a popular place for a long lunch
+ pool bar area is pretty
+ good breakfast

- some of the areas felt quite old and tatty, like they had upgraded the places that the public see but note the guests
- expensive for what it is
- room wasn't very clean, a lot of dust

For the money i would recommend staying elsewhere and coming here for a evening drink or weekend lunch

Room Tip: Suites are large but feel inpersonal.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zoesfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us, we do appreciate your detailed feedback and I have discussed your comments with my team.

Regards

Hannalie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

a beautiful and calm spot in a serene setting and an ideal base to explore the cape region; relaxed ambiance with everything one needs (but without the superfluous gimmicks), friendly and helpful staff – all in all very much recommended

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 681frequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Alphen and thank you for complimenting our staff.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Cape.

Regards

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I was very pleasantly surprised at this venue. The food is as wonderful and beautiful as the lovely surrounding gardens. The staff are also fantastic - friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. And I can finally say I've had the best mussels in cream sauce ever! Also try their pomegranate and mint G&T - absolutely awesome! Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank CornetteZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am so glad to hear our staff made you feel welcome and that our chefs made your lunch a memorable occasion.

We look forward to seeing you again

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night on the final part our of trip and wish we had stayed longer. The hotel is lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was very large with an amazing central ceiling light. Room clean and very comfortable, dinner in the Italian was very nice. Pool area was small but pleasant. Breakfast was ample. No complaints and will stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheEleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews