We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
179
37
16
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
37
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose bar cape town complimentary breakfast great decor fantastic hotel attention to detail pool area a special place sun loungers beautiful grounds spacious room excellent breakfast a wonderful stay belle hayley blanco ashton
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Relaxed lunch outside La Belle food and service was great (excellent marinaded chicken and lemon cous cous,spinach hummus, mussels and rack of lamb) only downside was the hideous piped music which was not needed!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katho994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us at la Belle Bistro and I thank you for your feedback regarding the music.

We hope to see you again soon

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I expected a lot more from this hotel for how much it cost. From the pictures online the hotel looks really cool with great decor but it was actually quite tacky with some really strange interiors. A few pro's and cons below:
+ great location, Constantia is beautiful
+ was clearly a popular place for a long lunch
+ pool bar area is pretty
+ good breakfast

- some of the areas felt quite old and tatty, like they had upgraded the places that the public see but note the guests
- expensive for what it is
- room wasn't very clean, a lot of dust

For the money i would recommend staying elsewhere and coming here for a evening drink or weekend lunch

Room tip: Suites are large but feel inpersonal.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zoesfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us, we do appreciate your detailed feedback and I have discussed your comments with my team.

Regards

Hannalie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

a beautiful and calm spot in a serene setting and an ideal base to explore the cape region; relaxed ambiance with everything one needs (but without the superfluous gimmicks), friendly and helpful staff – all in all very much recommended

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 681frequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Alphen and thank you for complimenting our staff.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Cape.

Regards

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I was very pleasantly surprised at this venue. The food is as wonderful and beautiful as the lovely surrounding gardens. The staff are also fantastic - friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. And I can finally say I've had the best mussels in cream sauce ever! Also try their pomegranate and mint G&T - absolutely awesome! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CornetteZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am so glad to hear our staff made you feel welcome and that our chefs made your lunch a memorable occasion.

We look forward to seeing you again

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night on the final part our of trip and wish we had stayed longer. The hotel is lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was very large with an amazing central ceiling light. Room clean and very comfortable, dinner in the Italian was very nice. Pool area was small but pleasant. Breakfast was ample. No complaints and will stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheEleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Hannalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews