We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tennesseetraveler53
Kingsport, Tennessee

Incredible Stay at Cellars-Hohenhort

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Incredible visit to beautiful boutique hotel on gorgeous grounds at the base of Table Mountain. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated, fine linens and so comfortable. The food was special at every meal, presented creatively and delicious. The High Tea, walking in the gardens, finding the resident tortoises made this a one of a kind hotel. The Spa, peaceful, quiet and talented employees. But, by far the best part of all was the welcoming staff. Hats off to Helenica, Bridget, Daniel, Annabella, Que, Lisa and Massimo. Wish I could name everyone as they all did their part to make our visit so memorable!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tennesseetraveler53,

Greetings from Cellars-Hohenort!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and experienced the lovely High Tea. Thank you for the lovely feedback on Helenica, Bridget, Daniel, Annabella, Quanita, Lisa and Massimo, I will share your lovely feedback with them, and I am sure they will be as happy as I am to hear that they assisted in creating a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort Team

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 725
R 2 353
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.2 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 337
R 5 062
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 505
R 3 177
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 177
4.2 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 020
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 020
2.7 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 052
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 052
3.8 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 994
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 994
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 587
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 587
4.5 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 880
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.2 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 196
  • eDreams
2.0 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 141
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 345
4.5 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Constantia
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
553
105
48
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
553
105
48
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greenhouse restaurant liz mcgrath scones high tea martini bar cape town camphor trees beautiful hotel stunning gardens wine list duty manager special occasion attention to detail table mountain out of this world first class main building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2024

Beautiful decor, lovely open lounge spaces and genuinely helpful staff. The rooms are gorgeous and spacious with lovely comfy beds. There are lots of open areas to relax in and perfect if you are staying with children who go to bed earlier. Gardens are lovely for a walk and the restaurant was great.

We took the complimentary shuttle to the Waterfront on one of the days which was really helpful. We paid to get picked up from the airport but again such a pleasure to offer this service. One of us used the spa and had a good experience with an early appointment before breakfast.

Very relaxing and somewhere I would definitely go back and stay.

Room tip: Complimentary bottle of red wine in our rooms which was lovely. Chocolate and water left each evening.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2024

Dear JagerC,

Greetings from Cellars-Hohenort! Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your kind words.

We are delighted to hear we were able to make your stay a memorable one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024 via mobile

We were booked by our tour company, Go Touch Down, at another hotel (Stillness Manor) which was completely unacceptable!!!! Our group of 8 quickly found The Cellars property and were lucky enough to all get rooms. The staff was so professional and the property is stunning. They saved our entire Cape Town experience!

Both the restaurant and the bar have a good selection and the food is really good. I’m not too adventurous so stuck with the filet and was not disappointed! On par with a good American steakhouse. They offer a nice continental breakfast or you can order from the menu.

They also have an on-site boutique that was very charming.

I would return to Cape Town and stay at this property!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cojabnga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Dear Cojabnga,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am so sorry to hear that you had a bumpy start to your holiday, however thrilled that we assisted in creating a memorable visit to Cape Town.

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

We consider our 4-night stay at the Cellars-Hohenort to be the best resort experience we ever had. Impeccable service and ambience. The entire staff was so welcoming, professional, caring, and attentive. The attention to detail for everything was amazing. Charming in every way. We loved all meals, the multiple spa treatments, walking around the grounds . . . everything. We'll definitely plan to return. Best service and treatment we've ever experienced.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Vagabond_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Dear 1Vagabond_Traveler,

Greetings from Cellars-Hohenort!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that we assisted in a memorable stay in Cape Town and went above and beyond in many aspects of your stay!

I look forward to your return visit and welcoming you back to The Cellars-Hohenort.

Kind regards,
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

To celebrate my daughter’s engagement we booked the High Tea at The Greenhouse. Highly recommended! From arrival, experiencing the beautiful garden and then the High Tea- an absolute treat! A sensory experience from start to finish Thank you

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank stergianostanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Dear stergianostanya,

Greetings form The Cellars-Hohenort and Congratulations on your daughter's engagement!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your high tea experience. It was a real pleasure hosting you, and I'm delighted to know that we went beyond your expectations in several aspects. I will make sure to share your very kind comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

Our recent stay at The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel was an amazing experience from start to finish. The hotel itself with the wondervoll surrounding garden is beautiful and located in a green and safe area in Cape Town. Furthermore the food in their own unique restaurant from breakfast to dinner is more than delicious. The staff at the hotel was a standout aspect of our visit. Always helpful and genuinely kind, they made sure all our questions were answered. Their dedication to guest satisfaction was evident, making our stay even more comfortable and enjoyable. In summary, we had a very positive experience at The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel. We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for quality and comfort in a beautiful hotel environment.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lisa_marie2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear lisa_marie2209,

Greetings form Cellars-Hohenort!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that we assisted in creating a memorable visit to South Africa. Thank you for the feedback on the team, I will definitely share your lovely comments with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews