We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bharat N

Poor reservation

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2024
Reservation system is disappointing. Booked via Expedia as per their requirements but received email that the reservation was abruptly cancelled by the hotel. A deposit was paid to secure the reservation. On making further enquiries Expedia bounces this to the hotel who bounce it back to them. Very unpleasant and when one tries to rebook the hotel is said to be sold out!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review
Responded 02 Apr 2024
Dear bharatn846,

Greetings from Cellars-Hohenort!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent interactions, I am disheartened to hear about your experience and understand how frustrating it can be when there is a misunderstanding. At Cellars-Hohenort, we take great care in ensuring that all our reservations are honoured and upheld. We take this matter seriously and encourage you to please contact me directly at tanya@cellars-hohenort.co.za to discuss your concerns further and assist with your bookings going forward.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Tanya

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Piscine - l'eau était froide
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 842
  • Algotels
3.2 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.2 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 072
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 179
4.2 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 758
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
4.2 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.4 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 580
  • Algotels
1.9 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 180
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
7.9 km from The Cellars-Hohenort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Constantia
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
556
105
48
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
556
105
48
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greenhouse restaurant liz mcgrath scones high tea martini bar cape town camphor trees beautiful hotel stunning gardens wine list duty manager special occasion attention to detail table mountain out of this world first class main building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2024

We dined here in our final night in S Africa and it is always reassuring to return to a top class restaurant with first class service. The new decor was buzzy and made the vibe younger. All of our meals were delicious and beautifully presented.

Room tip: If the weather is conducive, ask for an outside table by the fountain.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StooDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear StooDee,

Greetings from Cellars-Hohenort!

I am thrilled to hear that we were able to make your last evening in South Africa a memorable one! Thank you for the lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2024

We stayed at Cellars-Hohenort for our first 2 nights in South Africa, and what a lovely relaxing time we had!
The setting is beautiful, surrounded by mountains, flowers and stunning gardens. This is reflected on the inside too with a calming botanical feel and incredible welcoming service.
The room was beautiful and bright, so airy and lead to and outdoor patio area. The bed was incredibly comfortable too.

We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast in particular, it was plentifully and of a really good quality with different fresh fruit juices too (I loved the carrot and ginger ones!)

We had both lunch and dinner on separate days, we found them to be tasty although the menu was the same for both. The desserts in particular are fabulous! In fact, some of the best I've ever had - the vegan sticky toffee pudding was incredible and not too sweet either compared with our UK version!
Thank you for a lovely stay, it was so tranquil.
Richa + Pry

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DeliciousEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear DeliciousEarth,

Greetings from Cellars-Hohenort!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us. It was a real pleasure hosting you, and I'm delighted to know that we went beyond your expectations in several aspects. I will make sure to share your very kind comments with the team.

I am so happy that you had a relaxing stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

A dream visit. We landed from Heathrow at 8.30 am. The chauffeur Cellars had arranged was there to greet us. A lovely reception from Daniel at the hotel. We had prebooked a morning massage as we knew we would be there early. Everything flowed so smoothly. A walk round the wonderful grounds, an hour on the back lawn and a lovely lunch we were ready for our room which is simply amazing! We were thoroughly spoilt by room 5, thank you.

Our room had a small patio which was part of anther garden area, thus spoilt for choice

A pleasant dinner in the conservatory. Incidentally, we found the omelette a better choice for breakfast rather than the full English

I like to give an honest and balanced view on all things. We loved the Cellars for our room, for the facilities such as the smaller garden/swimming pool though frankly the larger lawns/swimming pool was equally magnificent

Food wise, the conservatory restaurant is good, but it didn`t particularly wow either of us. But that should not deter you from booking this wonderful wonderful retreat for your own dream visit.

Special thanks to Daniel and Hellena on reception.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A9799TAroym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Dear A9799TAroym,

Greetings form The Cellars-Hohenort!

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us. It was a real pleasure hosting you, and I'm delighted to know that we went beyond your expectations in several aspects. I will make sure to share your very kind comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

This is our 10th visit and Tanya Johnson could not have been more welcoming or generous to us. We had our favourite Villa, 65 and all sorts of lovely, gifts were sent in by Tanya to welcome us back.

The villa is absolutely beautiful and so are the grounds. Quite a lot of refurbishment has happened since last year and it is beautiful.

Everyone cannot do enough for us.

The laundry service is fantastic. Comes back in the evening packed in tissue or hung on hangers.

There is a complimentary shuttle service to Cape Town and back so you don’t have to drive and find a parking spot.

We are coming back for our 11th visit next year and cannot wait.

Thank you everyone who has made our visit so enjoyable.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ariana van der Merwe, Revenue Management at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Dear GillyflowerofLondon,

Greetings form The Cellars-Hohenort!

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It has been an absolute pleasure welcoming you back and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Kind regards,
Tanya and The Cellars-Hohenort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

We had the Valentines dinner this evening.
Whilst serving staff and Manager were excellent, the food was somewhat ‘all show, no substance’. It was well presented but flavours unsophisticated. The cerviche was excessively salty, the beef stringy with unchewable fat, the fish tasted ‘earthy’ and the sorbet was crushed ice with very slight flavouring. The wine pairing wasn’t to our taste in that each and every glass was sparkling wine. Fortunately the Manager offered a non-fizzy option in its place. The bill was initially incorrect, totalling just R50, the price of still water! All in all, a beautiful environment let down by the food.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank clr4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews