We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 7 424
Breakfast included
Priceline
R 8 387
Agoda.com
R 7 049
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
540
105
48
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
540
105
48
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greenhouse restaurant liz mcgrath scones high tea martini bar cape town camphor trees beautiful hotel stunning gardens wine list duty manager special occasion attention to detail table mountain out of this world first class main building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We arrived after a long and tiring overseas flight. The whole team was welcoming, helpful and focused on anything that could make our stay comfortable.
We immediately felt at home.
The room was clean and decorated with a lot of taste.
The restaurant, food and drinks were top!
A real peace of heaven in the midst of this wonderful Constantia!
Loved the ducks in the garden!
Thank you, definitely, each we shall come to Cape Town, we now know were our home is!

Room tip: take a garden orientated room.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jean_michel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear jean_michel155

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay, I am thrilled that our team made your stay more memorable and that you enjoyed the restaurants offerings - our ducks all have their own unique personalities and I glad you enjoyed your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your return!

Kind regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

My daughter in law had, for Christmas last year, given me a voucher for the Low Carb High Tea at the Hohenort for the two of us. We went this afternoon - perfect weather, perfect timing. Everything was totally delicious! We valiantly attempted to eat our way through but there was just rather too much for us. Delicious tiny, bit sized morsels of food; we thoroughly indulged!! A gorgeous selection of treats, perfectly balanced and enjoyed with a glass of sparkling wine. I would really like to do this again!!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank travelalwayssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear travelalwayssa

Many thanks for your delightful review of the High Tea recently at the Hotel, I am so pleased that you found the time to make use of your wonderful Xmas gift from your daughter and that you had a fabulous afternoon with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

On a recent visit to Cape Town to celebrate my daughter's birthday, I decided to surprise her with High Tea at Cellars-Hohenhort.....WOW....were we surprised!!
We were met by Angie, the Deputy General Manager, and she went out of her way to make us feel comfortable, even lighting the fire just for us, in the absolutely stunning lounge.
The food was absolutely incredible.....far exceeding our expectations.
We will definitely be going back!!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank maryannj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear maryannj62

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the high tea celebrations for your daughters birthday and that the food exceeded your expectations. I will pass on your wonderful comments to my Deputy, Angie!

Kind regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Everything about the Cellars-Hohenort exceeded our expectations. The welcome at reception was friendly and efficient; the room was large and comfortable and had a marvellous view over the gardens from the deck; the gardens themselves (9 acres) were beautifully laid out and maintained to perfection; in the dining room, the food was excellent and the staff were exceptional; in fact, all of the staff were wonderful. Happy pleasant and eager to please.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Norman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Norman N

I am delighted that you had a fabulous stay and our team and services exceeded your expectations, this is high praise indeed and I will pass on your your compliments to the staff.

Kind regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

The Events Manager was very charming and efficient. Our group of nineteen had two tables in a section next to the windows, semi-private like a three-sided square. the food was delicious and there was a choice of three main courses, all popular, but the Banting Benedict especially so. Unfortunately the seating plan had been wrongly applied, but we rearranged the place name tags before anyone arrived. Details of the service could have been improved such as providing more butter and refilling coffee cups. Overall, though, a memorable and happy occasion.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank JudithG1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Judith G

Many thanks for your review of your breakfast held recently in The Conservatory. I am pleased that the food was delicious and have noted the small service issues which I will relay to the team.

Delighted that overall you had a wonderful morning

Regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews