We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
360
84
38
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
84
38
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greenhouse restaurant liz mcgrath relais chateaux upgraded to a suite cape town wellness spa fine dining old trees tasting menu slopes of table mountain high tea this wonderful hotel award winning low carb stunning gardens attention to detail luxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

If you are tired of big standardised hotels this is a great option. My second stay here, great service, super friendly staff and just enjoyable to stay here. Cuisine in the hotel itself is very good and another restaurant on the premises is an alternative.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank AchimKlennert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear AchimKlennert

Many thanks for your kind words & sharing your experience, I am delighted that you found that our staff were friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurants.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Having booked for afternoon tea we decided to arrive a little earlier and have a cocktail on the terrace first. We were shown to a table overlooking the lovely garden but unfortunately the table and chairs were wrought iron and in the lovely Cape sunshine too hot to lean back in. Also paint was flaking off the furniture and stuck to you! A little maintenance required or preferably change to more suitable outside furniture.
Anyway we asked for the cocktail list but were disappointed that it was much shorter than we'd viewed on their website. However we made our selection. After a while the waitress returned to say there would be a short delay as their ice machine had broken and the manager had gone out to buy ice. This delay turned into 45 mins during which the waitress apologised several times but didn't offer us anything else. Eventually the cocktails arrived but without any ice cubes or crushed ice in the glasses, just a slightly chilled drink. Very disappointing.
However it was soon time to go into the lounge for our afternoon tea where things rapidly improved. We chose the low carb high tea which may sound a little too healthy but was, in fact, absolutely delicious. It was so nice to have some savoury items, broccoli red pepper and goats cheese tarts and beef and peppadew sosoaties. Dark chocolate and beetroot cupcakes followed by pavlova and fantastic scones with sugar free jam and whipped cream cheese. A wide selection of teas and coffees to choose from and our teapot was regularly refilled for us.
All this for R225 per person, approximately £14.
If we hadn't had the debacle with the ice at the start for which we were sadly not offered any recompense, this visit would have got a 5 star rating from me. But I still rate the afternoon tea as one of the best I've ever had and will probably go again on my next visit to Cape Town. But I'll probably pass on the cocktails next time!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 336Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear 336Linda

Many thanks for your review, we appreciate the constructive feedback and I would like to apologize about the ice issue that you had. It could have been handled more effectively than what you experienced

I have noted though that this happened in February of this year and I can assure that any issues that we had with our machinery has been rectified.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our High Tea and had a wonderful afternoon despite this, and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Helpful & friendly service, beautiful large rooms with lounge area, dressing room, very comfortable. Dinner at the Conservatory was great and lunch at the Greenhouse restaurant was exceptional. Amazing low-carb High Tea!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Deidre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Deidre L

I am absolutely delighted you had a fabulous stay with us recently. Many thanks for your wonderful compliments to our restaurants and high tea offering, I will pass this on to our staff members who will love this feedback

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Friendly reception and service in this gorgeous old building carrying one back to the days of style and class. The atmosphere is relaxed and the gardens magnificent. Few hotels have two great restaurants on site but book in advance at the Greenhouse: not to be missed!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Johann S

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as our excellent restaurants. I trust that our relaxing atmosphere will see you return in the near future

Best wishes
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We had a Business lunch on a sunny winters afternoon at The Greenhouse. This is Cape Towns best kept well know secret. There is no doubt why this restaurant has been successfully in the Top 10 restaurants in Cape Town. The waiters were all so knowledgeable about each and every dish presented - this to me is important. It means the chef takes their time to explain and educate the waiters on what is being prepared and served. The sommelier was top notch. It was a culinary treat.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Melonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Melonie B

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our specialty restaurant, Greenhouse. We are extremely happy that you had a fabulous luncheon and I will pass on your very kind compliments to the Team!

Kind regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews