We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with an enormous smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This is the 101st review that I have written for Trip Advisor and amongst all the hotels I reviewed the Cellars Hohenhort has the most charming staff that I have a come across. They are extraordinary. The receptionists, the restaurant staff, the guards at the gate, the team at the spa and the chamber maids all deliver a wonderful, warm personal attention. They really, really want the guests to enjoy staying there. What more is there to say about a hotel?

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Charlie1001

There is nothing better than reading a review where praises are bestowed on the staff. They are indeed a fabulous team and I cannot thank you more for such high praise. They will be overjoyed when this is shared with them - thank you so much.
I am delighted that you had a fabulous stay and I look forward to welcoming you back

Best wishes
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We arrived for the last two nights of a busy tour and were delighted to find such a wonderful hotel. We had extended our trip to include an extra three nights to have a rest and this is certainly the place to do that. The bedroom was everything we needed with attendance to all our requirements. We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the World but this took some beating for the wonderful staff, lovely gardens and great food. The hotel overlooks a vineyard.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Di B

What a fabulous review - high praise indeed! I am pleased we are exceeding your expectations and that you are enjoying your stay so much that you have extended - I will pass on these magnificent compliments to the team

My very best wishes to you

Kind Regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days and although we did not have the largest room (there are bigger ones than room 47), we had a wonderful stay here. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, at the end of the day a turn down service with a bottle of water and fresh towels if needed, breakfast is lovely, a large bar area to relax, do some work or enjoy a high tea. The gardens are lovely too and you can't get enough of the view. Only minus: the wifi is not very strong and the ventilator above the restaurant can be a bit noisy if your room is there (solution: turn on your airco and you won't hear it anymore).

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 956elskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear 956elskev

Many thanks for your wonderful review, I am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and I will convey that to the team, they will love it! I am truly pleased that you enjoyed all our facilities on offer and I will be sure to check on the ventilator as mentioned

Best wishes
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

A delightful 4 night stay. in charming gable room, Pure luxurious comfort and attention to detail.Friendly and unassuming staff ever at the ready to assist. A lovely peaceful setting in the Courtyard Restaurant for Breakfast and Dinner.Room facilities excellent. Magnificent grounds and a lovely view.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift in the main buildings. Higher floors have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Ruth E

Many thanks for your wonderful review. I am absolutely delighted that you had a marvellous experience and that you enjoyed our room facilities, restaurants and grounds. I am so pleased too that our staff took good care of you.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We had a lovely lunch here in a lovely courtyard. The menu was interesting and varied and and the food and wine was very pleasant. However, the setting is not disabled friendly which made it difficult for us. A few more ramps would make all the difference!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Margaret1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear Margaret1917

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your lunch at the Hotel. We have disabled parking at the entrance to the Hotel with a wheelchair ramp to reception and another wheelchair access to the restaurant. Admittedly one cannot get access to the entire estate as the garden paths can be rather difficult to negotiate.

I am interested to discuss the troubles that you had with your access, please email me on gm@cellars-hohenort.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
502 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1 325 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
193 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: R3 174 - R5 698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing