We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and delicious ”
Review of Bistro Sixteen82

Bistro Sixteen82
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Named after the year in which Steenberg was established, Bistro Sixteen82 first opened its doors in 2009, and has been the tapas and bistro-style darling of the dining world ever since. An innovative and interactive wine and food destination, the Bistro sits adjacent to Steenberg’s winery, and spills into its surrounding indigenous gardens with a terraced dining area leading to reflective water features, unfurling into views of the magnificent stone mountains and expansive winelands. The Bistro Sixteen82 menu is a constant evolution, keeping up with seasonal produce and featuring inventive dishes that compliment the finest locally sourced ingredients. With Breakfast, Lunch and late-afternoon Tapas menus to choose from, the Bistro provides fine dining with an inimitable contemporary spirit. Executive Chef, Kerry Kilpin, love to create food which is seasonal, flavourful and bursts with freshness. "My greatest inspirations are derived from significant occasions in my life. On my travels to Thailand I developed a love and passion for Asian food. From shopping at the local food markets to creating my first authentic Thai dish, I was in heaven. You will notice a common thread in what I do and who I am. Love. I cook with love and my food is love." Internationally, Bistro Sixteen82 has been recognised in the list of 20 of the World’s Best Winery Restaurants by Canada’s renowned Wine Access magazine. Locally, listings included prominent mentions in Fleur du Cap’s Top 100 Places; Eat in Cape Town; and EAT OUT’s Best Bistros list.
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

The beautiful setting of Steenberg Wine estate is home to Bistro Sixteen. The venue has wine tasting with snack platters, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The wines are some of the best in the Cape Constantia area all at extremely reasonable prices. The restaurant is perfect anytime of day amazing view simple innovative dishes served in a modern Cape Winery.

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry K, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear David G
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your fabulous compliments on our restaurant and estate. We strive at Bistro 1682 to make your experience as memorable as possible. It was absolutely delightful to receive such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our beautiful restaurant.
Regards
Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

The food is elegant and really delicious. Not cheap (of course!), but the portions are good (plus a free honey brioche to start with). Service is superb, the decor, modern, the ambiance is calm, the view fascinating - in fact, there is nothing to carp about (except that the coffee is not quite up to CT's best!). We are vegetarian, yet found two very yummy dishes. We'll be back...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry K, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear John H
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your delightful complements on our vegetarian breakfasts and service. We sincerely apologise that your coffee was not up to our standard. We strive at Bistro 1682 to make your experience as memorable as possible.
Kind Regards
Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

The entire experience was memorable. From booking the table.

Small menu but what is on the menu is exceptional.

Will be back. Good value for money

Thank Craigfid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry K, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Craigfid
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your delightful compliments on our food and service. We strive at Bistro 1682 to make your experience as memorable as possible and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful restaurant.

Regards Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful setting, excellent wines and food. The staff is very attentive and well mannered. The entire venue is very sophisticated, excellent fir the discerning traveler.

Thank ClaraKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry K, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear ClaraKnowles
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your fabulous compliments on our food and service. We strive at Bistro 1682 to make your experience as memorable as possible. It was absolutely delightful to receive such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our beautiful restaurant.
Regards
Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

A lovely spot looking out on mountains. There are beautiful fountains making the whole place tranquil. The food is suburb, the service good and there is few wines beating the Catharina with a nice springbok in red wine jus. Amazing! We will be back!

Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry K, Head chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Reenwoud
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your delightful compliments on our food and estate. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your springbok.
We strive at Bistro 1682 to make your experience as memorable as possible and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful restaurant.

Regards Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Sixteen82 also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Bistro Sixteen82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing